Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: K3 and Signalink USB *help*  (Read 3558 times)
AD9DX
Member

Posts: 1481




Ignore
« on: April 01, 2013, 03:55:11 PM »

Ok I know the argument that I don't need it, but I like to listen to music while I work JT-65 so unless I want an OO report about broadcasting Led Zeppelin on the ham bands, I am going to need your help. 

I purchased the special three plug cable that goes from the Signalink to the K3 and installed the circuit board to the appropriate place.  I can RX just fine, and but I can't get it to transmit.  Well, I can get the Signalink to do its part, and I can see the LED on the K3 light up TX but no output.  I did set the MIC+LIN to "on" but that is the only change I have made. 

Any input on how your K3 and signalink are set up would be greatly appreciated.
Logged

EX, KC9TRM, KB9IRZ
WA9AFM
Member

Posts: 208




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013, 06:39:38 PM »

Check you 'Line In' gain menu; it is set to zero by default.
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12841




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2013, 06:49:59 PM »

Yes, your indications are that the audio is not getting thru the K3. The SignaLink-USB uses the audio in a vox circuit to generate the PTT signal. If the K3 is keying then your software is creating audio out of the SignaLink so its an audio problem between the SignaLink and the K3. Line in gain set too low is very likely.
Logged
AD9DX
Member

Posts: 1481




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2013, 04:10:31 AM »

Thank you both for the responses. I'll check that tonight.
Logged

EX, KC9TRM, KB9IRZ
KH6DC
Member

Posts: 642




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2013, 05:58:33 PM »

1. Check the TX knob on the Signalink, it may be turned to a minimum and adjust to just tripping the ALC for a clean signal output
2. Check to see if the speaker output selected from the sound menu is USB CODEC
3. Check the volume out from the sound card, maybe the level's too low

Hope you got it working by the time you read this.
Logged

73 and Aloha,
de Delwyn, KH6DC
AD9DX
Member

Posts: 1481




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2013, 09:36:55 AM »

1. Check the TX knob on the Signalink, it may be turned to a minimum and adjust to just tripping the ALC for a clean signal output
2. Check to see if the speaker output selected from the sound menu is USB CODEC
3. Check the volume out from the sound card, maybe the level's too low

Hope you got it working by the time you read this.

I did not have a chance to work on it last night.  I ended up working a double and a half... 20 hours. I will probably look at it tomorrow now.
Logged

EX, KC9TRM, KB9IRZ
AD9DX
Member

Posts: 1481




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2013, 03:42:56 PM »

I was able to get it to transmit today... I still need to tweak things a bit but so far so good.
Logged

EX, KC9TRM, KB9IRZ
N4HAL
Member

Posts: 53




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2013, 12:56:16 PM »

Need to set the data mode NOT to pSK but to DATA A to get it to work.

Hope his may help.

Bill
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!