Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem loading ACL on Windows 7 laptop.  (Read 6374 times)
W8VVE
Member

Posts: 190




Ignore
« on: April 02, 2013, 01:01:24 PM »

I'm having problems getting Amateur Contact Log by N3FJP to load on my Windows 7 laptop.
It downloads fine...but will not run.  All Windows updates are installed.  I had no problem loading it on my PC downstairs...it uses Windows XP.  I know it will run under Windows 7 and was wondering if anyone has had problems and found a fix?  Not a huge biggie...I can always use the PC downstairs...but it would be really convenient if I could get it working on the laptop. Tks...Sam W8VVE
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6093




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2013, 03:06:22 PM »

I'm having problems getting Amateur Contact Log by N3FJP to load on my Windows 7 laptop.
It downloads fine...but will not run.  All Windows updates are installed.  I had no problem loading it on my PC downstairs...it uses Windows XP.  I know it will run under Windows 7 and was wondering if anyone has had problems and found a fix?  Not a huge biggie...I can always use the PC downstairs...but it would be really convenient if I could get it working on the laptop. Tks...Sam W8VVE

Is Win 7 laptop 64 bit?
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W8VVE
Member

Posts: 190




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2013, 05:33:17 PM »

No....it is 32.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6093




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2013, 07:14:42 PM »

Well MS did drop legacy support in 7 for old windows apps that are not true 32 bit apps. XP still supports them. You could try running it in XP compatibility mode.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W5CPT
Member

Posts: 557




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2013, 07:31:56 PM »

Did you let the installer install it for you?  On my old XP laptop, I made sure that ACL (before v 3.0) were NOT in the "Program Files" folder to eliminate the "I can't find my files." problem.  However, with the new rewrite, (v 3.0 and newer - 3.3 current) you must have the program in the "Program Files" folder for it to run.

Clint - W5CPT -
Logged
KG6AF
Member

Posts: 362




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2013, 08:43:15 PM »

I've got ACLog running on a W7 64-bit laptop; I'd be amazed if there were a problem running on the 32-bit version of W7.

N3FJP has an excellent reputation for support.  I'd suggest contacting him at snkdavis@aol.com .  The N3FJP_Software_Users Yahoo group is also very helpful.
Logged
W8VVE
Member

Posts: 190




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2013, 04:53:35 AM »

Thanks for the replies and info...I have loaded another program which works fine.
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2738


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2013, 10:21:14 AM »

What is this reluctance to contact software vendors that I am seeing time and time again?  That to me is like saying I have a brain tumor, can the folks on eHAM give me some pointers on surgical techniques vs going to the surgeon!
Logged
W8VVE
Member

Posts: 190




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2013, 12:33:06 PM »

What is this reluctance to contact software vendors that I am seeing time and time again?
===================================================================
Perhaps I should have noted in my post that I did contact the software vendor and was told that he uses it on a Windows 7 laptop with no problems...no other suggestions or comments.
It was after that I posted my question here on eham. I have since started using DXKeeper
which works fine...problem solved...happy camper.  73 to all...Sam W8VVE
Logged
W8VVE
Member

Posts: 190




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2013, 10:46:41 AM »

Follow-up to original post...Version 4.1 has recently come out and after downloading  I was able
to run the program on my Windows 7 machine without any problems. 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!