Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Grandfathered renewals ???  (Read 11656 times)
W6GF

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2013, 05:52:08 PM »

Pardon me for getting a little crude, but, if they have time for bathroom needs, they have time for license renewal.  They both take the same amount of time

George, W6GF
BASSMAN12350

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: April 24, 2013, 08:56:20 AM »

Difficult for me to imagine anyone to whom amateur radio means anything at all "forgetting" to renew his or her license for a period of years. 
Actually, I fit into that category.......I retired, got busy with other things (I was a tech plus) and simply let my license expire.  Amateur radio does mean a lot to me (I had my ticket for 20+ years), my priorities simply were required to change for a while.  I am testing again at the end of this week to get my ticket back, though it will probably be with a new call sign.  I have no one to blame but myself for letting my license lapse........and yes, it would not have taken any real effort for my to "re-up" before it expired.  That being said, I am looking forward to being back on.....

73, Steve (former KC6MLZ)
KA2ODP

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: May 09, 2013, 09:12:20 PM »

I agree with the statement: "Difficult for me to imagine anyone to whom amateur radio means anything at all "forgetting" to renew his or her license for a period of years."

A ten year license period, plus a TWO year grace period, is pretty generous.  You will not find such a deal with your drivers license!

I spent over 24 years on active duty in the Air Force.  My career included multiple overseas assignments and deployments.  I never "forgot" to renew my license.  But then, I stayed active in Amateur Radio - even when stationed overseas.