Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HF Listening  (Read 1989 times)
W8RJB

Ignore
« on: March 27, 2014, 12:24:40 AM »

Hello there,

Before I obtained my technician class license I was a vhf/uhf scanner listener. I would use my fathers old police scanner and tune into vhf/uhf amateur frequencies...this contributed to my interest in ham radio which drove me to get my license. Now that I've been a tech for quite some time, I would like to start listening to the frequencies that only general and extra class amateurs can transmit on...the HF frequencies. Unfortunately, due to financial reasons I cannot just go and buy a HF rig to listen in. So my question is... is there such thing as a HF receiver/scanner? I would like to listen to the general and extra class bands on an affordable receiver/scanner like I did with my fathers police scanner.  If so, can you please provide details on what type of receiver to get and possibly some links or receiver radio models?

Thanks in advance from a ham interested in upgrading to general class.

Ray W8RJB
KA4POL

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2014, 01:05:44 AM »

I recommend considering the latest development in ham radio. This means SDR (Software Defined Radio).
There are many possibilities depending upon your budget and requirements. A simple and inexpensive solution would be using one of those DVB-T sticks and an upconverter. See the discussions in the SDR forum on eham. 
WA8ZTZ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2014, 01:41:19 AM »

The HF ham bands are not channelized so they cannot be scanned in the same manner as with a VHF style scanner.

Just get any shortwave receiver that covers the ham bands and can receive sideband.  You will have to tune around but that is part of the fun.   Smiley
G8JNJ

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2014, 01:56:01 AM »

Hi Ray,