Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Adding 440 to Indoor 144 MHz Yagi  (Read 6370 times)
K0OD

Ignore
« on: April 18, 2014, 10:55:17 AM »

Been upgrading my emergency radio capabilities as we enter tornado season. Bought a dualband 50 watt radio with WX alert feature and wide scanning ability. Replaced ancient RG8 mini coax with low loss LMR400. Now my old 2 meter 10-element Yagi in the garage is a monster at 14' off ground!   

But what to do about 440 which I've never worked before? I'd like to play with UHF as long as the transceiver covers it. Maybe dabble with satellites. Early tests support the common belief that UHF works better indoors than VHF.

Options:

1) Just use my 2-meter Yagi on 440. I can get into several repeaters... sorta. SWR is unknown.

2) Add a few 440-sized directors on the boom of my 144 Yagi to pick up UHF gain that way.

3) Add small 440 Yagi above the 144 one. I presume I'd need a du/di-plexer in that case. Can't find anything online about acceptable minimum stacking distance. 2 to 4 feet would be about my maximum available spacing in the garage rafters.

4) Replace old 144 Yagi with dualband 144/440 one.

KA4POL

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2014, 11:10:42 AM »

Consider: http://www.arrowantennas.com/arrowii/146-437.html
Options 1 and 2 are not a good choice. Option 3 requires a diplexer as you noticed.
A dualband antenna like the Diamond X50 could be a solution, reviews are mixed: http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/1054
For satellites the arrow would be fine.
I'd choose option 3, dedicated antennas are the optimum solution. Stacking distance of 4' should be sufficient.
K9ZF

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2014, 11:44:13 AM »

1.  No good.  Unknown SWR will equal dead radio...

2.  A lot of trouble, for not much return...

3.  Best choice, if you want to stick with yagis.

4.  Will work, but not as efficient as option 3.