Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Eham help us choose a radio for cross country flight  (Read 2750 times)
MIKAELS

Ignore
« on: May 18, 2013, 06:11:30 PM »

Hello EHam Radio Forum,
I have no experience at all with radios and I have spend quite some time reading articles and forums
and I'm throwing the the towel so I hope you guys with experience can point me in the right direction.

We are working on a cross country powered paragliding project in Mexico and we need a radio system.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxbY0L6t35Y

We will be the support team on the ground and two persons in the air and we all 3 need to be in contact with eachother
and if possible play some music from a IPOD in the two headsets in the air.

We will be purchasing this head set and it works with almost any kind of HAM, FRS/GMRS and professional radios
and also has Bluetooth adapter for using a bluetooth device and radio together.
http://www.loescher.com/product_info.php?language=en&gm_boosted_product=LUH-1--LOESCHER-Universal-Headset-mit-PTT-und-Helmhalterung&products_id=13790&&XTCsid=6559523fcfa63d0209a24852c8d39cee

So we will need three radios and we are on a bit of a budget so we looked at icom ic-v80
but we really need something with a bit more range - maybe 5+in miles if possible.

If anybody can recommend a good sturdy radio alternative with a really good range, good battery lifetime
that works with the headsets we will be purchasing it would really help me a lot.

I dont need a lot of the other radio features since we will just all stay on the same channel
and use a push to talk system and would like to hear a bit of music on the way since it will be many hours in the air...

Thanks !

Mikael
KA4NMA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2013, 07:06:40 PM »