Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HT That recieves SSB & CW  (Read 8356 times)
N8YQX

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2013, 09:49:25 PM »

How about something like AOR AR8200-MK3.  It covers from 500kHz to 3GHz, and does SSB and CW (as well as AM and FM).

http://www.aorusa.com/receivers/ar8200mk3.html

I've been using Yupiteru MVT-7100 for almost 20 years.  Great sensitivity for a hand held receiver, but unfortunately I don't think Yupi's are imported into the States.

N8YQX
KE7TMA

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2013, 08:05:25 PM »

I think it's because manufacturers assume that HTs will be used on FM exclusively.  Repeaters don't like SSB - no way to key it up reliably - and so that's that.

I think the market is very ripe for a nice HT that doesn't have all this digital garbage, but has SSB and CW.  It'll take a different mentality than the one that currently prevails in Japan to make this a reality though.

My guess is that the Chinese will swoop in with a little SSB HT rig in short order - they really are going after every market they can, and with extreme prejudice.  Of course it'd be nice to see an American HT with this capability, but I think that's a pie in the sky.
NO2A

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2013, 08:46:33 AM »

I like the idea of an ssb repeater. Has anyone ever tried this? As far as bringing up the machine,you could just say "Hola" and adjust the carrier delay for a long hang time. One problem might be maintaining frequency accuracy with ssb in an ht which could be difficult,unlike fm.
K0JEG

Ignore
« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2013, 09:53:28 AM »

I like the idea of an ssb repeater. Has anyone ever tried this? As far as bringing up the machine,you could just say "Hola" and adjust the carrier delay for a long hang time. One problem might be maintaining frequency accuracy with ssb in an ht which could be difficult,unlike fm.