Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Removable face 2 meter suggestions  (Read 7840 times)
KD0RXO

Ignore
« on: June 03, 2013, 01:44:53 PM »

I'm fairly new to ham and looking to purchase my first 2 meter mobile radio.  I'm looking for something with a removable face due to space constraints in my vehicle.  The radios I've found so far with a removable face have all been dual band and not just 2 meter.  I'm not completely opposed to dual band but doubt the 400 mhz will see much, if any, use by me so I prefer not to pay for it if I don't have to.  Does anyone know of a 2 meter only mobile with a removable face?
KB1LKR

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2013, 08:07:42 PM »

None that I'm aware of.
Only 2m/70cm dual banders.
K1CJS

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 05:47:20 AM »

Not that I'm aware of either.  That's not to say that you can't make your own, though.  I saw an article (I looked for it again but couldn't find it--if I do I will post the URL) where a 2 meter rig--I believe that it was the Icom V8000--was modified for just the purpose you want by making an extended connector cord to connect the rig and the face.  The challenge is to find such a 2 meter rig--one with a single connector cord--and then to modify/fabricate a suitable cord for it.  One other possible stumbling point is that sometimes the face has to be electrically connected to the body for the rig to work correctly.  Although that's rare, it may have to be considered.

Of course you'll have to fabricate a cover for the rig itself and also the mount for the face, although either some quality (read 3M) double stick tape or sticky type velcro mounting tape connectors could be used with reasonable success.