Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobile Install Question  (Read 5130 times)
APW19562
Member

Posts: 46




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2013, 09:24:38 AM »

Do you test it with the engine running ? or not ?

If it does it with the motor running, you might have a bad diode in the alternator. That will put AC voltage into your DC electrical system.

Had this exact same problem on a 2000 Ford Expedition.
Logged
K7UTA
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2013, 11:30:55 AM »

Art, every time the fuse has blown, the engine has been off.
Logged
K5LXP
Member

Posts: 4482


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2013, 12:46:21 PM »

What is the radio touching when the cable is connected?  Is the antenna connected?  Sure is starting to sound like a bad negative battery cable or ground.  Is there a chance this is a positive ground jeep?


Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM

Logged
K7UTA
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: August 01, 2013, 06:26:00 AM »

Only thing the radio is touching is the mounting bracket
and yes the antenna is connected.Odd thing is when I mounted the cb into the Jeep
I didnt have any problem.
In fact, the radio is mounted in the same place as the cb was.
Logged
N2MG
Administrator

Posts: 123



« Reply #19 on: August 01, 2013, 10:58:51 AM »

Still haven't answered my previous question (post 14)

Have you tried testing with NO radio plugged into the power cable?
Logged
K7UTA
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2013, 06:52:44 AM »

Gentlemen, I appreciate all the replies.
I think that old age is responsible for the error I was having getting the rig installed.
Yesterday, I went out to conduct some of the tests that
were mentioned here and found out that it was an operator error
in the first place.
I found that I had indeed been trying to hook the wrong cables to the wrong posts.
I felt like such an idiot.
Ran the wires and it now works.
Thanks again.


73 K7UTA
donnie
Logged
K5LXP
Member

Posts: 4482


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #21 on: August 02, 2013, 11:56:10 AM »


You were just making sure the reverse diode was working as it should.


Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM
Logged
K1CJS
Member

Posts: 6034




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: August 03, 2013, 08:13:33 AM »

Still haven't answered my previous question (post 14)

Have you tried testing with NO radio plugged into the power cable?

Selective reading--or skimming.  Mine (#11) was also ignored--even though I tried to be polite about it.
Logged
K7UTA
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2013, 08:27:06 AM »

Still haven't answered my previous question (post 14)

Have you tried testing with NO radio plugged into the power cable?

Selective reading--or skimming.  Mine (#11) was also ignored--even though I tried to be polite about it.

Sorry, I didnt ignore it.
I did and nothing happened.
Logged
K1CJS
Member

Posts: 6034




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: August 03, 2013, 01:03:29 PM »

Then I offer my humble apologies. 73.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!