Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: i see 2 PSK streams from the same station  (Read 4859 times)
KM4IY
Member

Posts: 31




Ignore
« on: July 30, 2013, 04:54:47 AM »

at times, and a day or two ago, i actually saw one station with THREE.   i'm curious what causes this to happen?  i wonder if I'm doing it too?  if i am, how can i prevent it?

thanks....
Logged
NA4IT
Member

Posts: 875


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2013, 05:04:09 AM »

Sometimes if your RX gain (volume) is set too high, the software will show "images" of the original.
Logged
K0YQ
Member

Posts: 447




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2013, 08:36:51 AM »

Back when I was first licensed I noticed the same effect.  Was using a borrowed rig, and I'd see multiple images of the same station across the waterfall.  I'm still using that same soundcard and computer, but never noticed it again after I replaced the rig.  Never gave it much thought as I didn't use that rig much and it was replaced.  Not sure how you're routing your audio but might try routing a different way or at different levels and see if that helps.  Wish I could be more help as I do recall it being annoying.
Logged
K2DC
Member

Posts: 1361


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2013, 08:44:40 AM »

I agree with NA4IT.  If the audio input to the soundcard is too high and it's clipping, you could be seeing original signal and one or more of its audio harmonics.

73,

Don, K2DC
Logged
KM4IY
Member

Posts: 31




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2013, 09:07:36 AM »

perhaps, but at the moment, my rx audio is showing 35% and i see a station with a stream at approx (1550) 14.070.550 and another at approx (2950) 14.071.950.  i can't say abt the other times because i've not looked at the audio, but i don't haven't had the need to change it so it stays like this most of the time.

Logged
N3HFS
Member

Posts: 212




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2013, 10:10:14 AM »

Are the streams identical...do they start/stop at the same moments in time?

I suppose it's possible to send two independent audio signals through a relatively wide bandwidth in such a way to have simultaneous QSOs, but the streams would be independent in behavior.
Logged
K5TED
Member

Posts: 728




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2013, 10:10:36 AM »

Make sure noise blanker is OFF
Logged
KM4IY
Member

Posts: 31




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2013, 06:32:32 PM »

Are the streams identical...do they start/stop at the same moments in time?

I suppose it's possible to send two independent audio signals through a relatively wide bandwidth in such a way to have simultaneous QSOs, but the streams would be independent in behavior.

i'm remembering they were the same, but i can't be 100% sure about it right now, i didn't analyze them that closely.  i'll take a better/closer look next time i'm on the air and see them.

it really doesn't matter, i'm only curious...
Logged
AH6RR
Member

Posts: 803




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2013, 09:12:03 AM »

I have seen this many times from one station in the South Pacific having 2 or more signals in the waterfall. He is simply using too much audio and power since I see others calling him on the ghosts images along with his primary signal so I know it was not my receiver. He is the only one I have ever seen this on.

Roland AH6RR
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!