Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Brand new not quite a HAM and questions on initial gear setup.  (Read 7020 times)
JRSTEENSEN

Ignore
« on: August 06, 2013, 11:54:17 AM »

Hey all. Seeing how this is my first post here, figure I'll introduce myself first. My name is John Steensen. I am the lead draftsman/designer on a UAV for the Army. I did 5 years active duty as an Army MP, including 3 years in Germany and 15 months in beautiful Baghdad just as the surge kicked off. I am still in the Reserves as an MP, and volunteer with my local Sheriff's Office as an unpaid sworn SAR team member. (I do tech, swiftwater, and helicopter based rescue - never thought I'd start rappeling out of helicopters AFTER the Army.)

My primary interest is in mobile HAM operation. I'm studying for my tech and general tickets, since i have to drive 65 miles for the test. Aiming to take it next month.

I'm starting to put together an equipment list. I have a little IC-92AD portable I've been listening to the local repeaters on. (Got myself a Moto HT1550 XLS for SAR, since thats the radio they issue the depuities....just cloned one of the loaner team radios.) Wish I could key it, but not yet.

The interesting part is my vehicle is not exactly condusive to radio mounting. (2002 Chevy Blazer ZR2)

Here is the start of my equipment list. All input will be appreciated!

Radio: IC-7000
VHF/UHF Antenna: Larsen NMO 2/70B
Mount: ?
HF Antenna: ?
HF Antenna Mount: ?

Radio: IC-F2821D (P25 enabled) (Public Safety UHF)
Antenna: ?

Radio: IC-F1821D (P25 enabled) (Public Safety VHF)
Antenna: Larsen NMOQ B

JRSTEENSEN

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2013, 12:55:25 PM »

Revised my setup slightly based on research this afternoon. (SLOW day at work.)

Radio: ICOM IC-7000 HF/VHF/UHF Transceiver

HF Antenna: Little Tarheel II
Controller: N2VZ Turbo Tuner