Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Keyboard to Keyboard Comm's with Packet  (Read 6583 times)
AA3XN

Ignore
« on: April 30, 2002, 08:58:48 AM »

I am new to packet.  I just obtained a Kantronics KPC-3 1200 baud TNC.  I would like to know if keyboard to keyboard (i.e., QSO style) communication is still done with packet?  Or has everything gone to APRS and TCP/IP style packet?

With the TCP/IP based packet networks are QSO's held?  Or is it simply E-mail style and BBS connections?

Any help is appreciated.

TNX
John
AA3XN
NB6Z

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2002, 11:39:23 AM »

John,
In 10 years of digi HF operation I think I have had 3 keyboard to keyboard QSOs on Packet. These days there are few, if any, HF packet nodes where folks are looking to meet other hams for a QSO or ragchew. The same thing is happening to Pactor mode... QSOing is now done on the HF bands using the low cost sound card modes like PSK31, MFSK16 and Hellschrieber modes. It's a good thing... ;-)
WB8NUT

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2002, 09:03:29 PM »

Use the KPC3 on APRS.  That's where all the packet activity has gone and it's fun!

Duffy
www.wb8nut.com
N5PVL

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2002, 12:46:14 AM »

Just for grins, try monitoring on 145.01 for half an hour or so. This is the most popular packet freq for general use. No telling, you might find something there. If there's any nodes or servers on the air, they will usually beacon thier I.D. within half an hour, or so. Some BBS stations beacon hourly, so it wouldn't hurt to monitor a little longer.

If no luck there, try 145.03   145.05   145.05   145.07   145.09