Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Internet Radio?  (Read 14833 times)
N5RWJ

Ignore
« on: November 01, 2013, 08:44:22 AM »

What is it and do you use it?
WA8ZTZ

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 01:16:00 PM »

Just recently got involved in this myself with a WiFi internet radio from C.Crane.  It is stand alone ...no computer required, however, you do need an internet connection either wireless or ethernet LAN.  Still just getting up to speed on this myself but the C.Crane website is very helpful and will probably answer most of your questions.   Smiley
KA7ZIS

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2013, 04:56:50 PM »

I've been using internet radio for a couple of years now. There is plenty to listen to. I think I remember hearing a 2 meter repeater as an internet radio station along with a 40 meter station but they are kind of raunchy.

I enjoy old time radio shows, Amos & Andy, Johnny Dollar, Dragnet, Richard Diamond are just a few that are available.

Here is a link to check out the old time stuff....

http://archive.org/details/oldtimeradio

The files can be streamed, or downloaded (the files are public domain).

I put the files on a Synology NAS and stream to a Logitech Internet Radio.
N8FNR

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2013, 09:13:05 AM »

I have a Grace Mondo internet only radio in our kitchen http://www.gracedigitalaudio.com/mondo-p-212.html
The built-in search function lets you find virtually any format or country that you can imagine. We listen to various stations around the US and love this little wi-fi radio!

Zack
N8FNR
KC2WI

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2013, 07:32:03 PM »

Internet "Radio" may be a form of broadcasting or transmitting but it is not radio. There is no RF being transmitted/broadcast/radiated.
VK3DWZ

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2013, 03:51:20 AM »