Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I want to go Digital with an Icom735. What's the cheapest/Easiest way to do it?  (Read 23307 times)
N6VGI

Ignore
« on: September 07, 2013, 08:53:40 PM »

Title kinda says it all. I'm new to the digital side of Ham Radio.
I don't want to spend a lot of money. (In case it doesn't thrill me.)
I would like full functionality though...

Any ideas? Thanks.
KC2UGV

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2013, 09:07:46 PM »

Any ideas? Thanks.

The following:

1 copper clad PC board
1 NPN signal transitor
2 Signal diodes (really doesn't matter, we're using the blocking ability of a diode)
Some wire
A 10KOhm resistor
A 100Ohm resistor
1 DB9 Serial Connector
1 USB-Serial Cable (10USD)
3 3/8" Audio Connectors
1 DIN connector (8 Pin, I believe)

These are all the parts needed for an Icom 735 digital interface (Minimal)
N6VGI

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2013, 09:29:14 PM »

But with that setup, I run the risk of over-driving the sound card and popping it, correct?
Or of introducing a ground-loop hum?
N0IU

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2013, 04:51:10 AM »

One of the most popular sounds card interfaces is the SignaLink USB by Tigertronics. Actually, it has its own built-in sound card with real adjustment knobs.

http://www.tigertronics.com/slusbmain.htm

AES has these for $99 and that includes the cable that goes from the interface to the radio. Just make sure to specify that you want an 8-pin DIN cable. You will also need to buy a SLMOD8PD jumper module that costs $7.95. Disclaimer: I do not work for AES or get paid to advertise for them, but they do seem to have to lowest price on this item.

With this, you plug one end of the interface into an open USB port on your computer and the DIN cable goes into the 8-pin DIN ACCY 1 port on the back of your radio and you are good to go.

Good luck!

AA4PB

Ignore