Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie looking for HF transceiver advice  (Read 27664 times)
KB1WTY

Ignore
« on: September 20, 2013, 07:53:04 AM »

I'm just starting out in ham radio, been doing the VHF/UHF portable thing for a bit but want to get into HF. Realistically, what's the least I can expect to spend for a base station transceiver (and which which model(s) would that be)? Looking around at some of the major brands I've heard of (Yaesu, Kenwood, Alinco) it looks like $700+ is what I should expect to spend (for the transceiver alone), but until I had heard of Baofeng, I thought that $150 was the least I could spend on an HT, and that turned out to be wrong. Are there similar, reasonable "budget" HF radios that might not be as great as the big brands, but still serviceable? Ideally, I'd like it to be able to do 40-meter to 10-meter and support SSB, AM, and CW (not sure, probably all HF radios do this). I don't need to be mobile (though I'm not opposed to using a mobile unit as a base station if that makes sense to do). Digital modes would be nice, but not critical.

Also, do radios generally (or ever) have IQ outputs (weather digital, i.e. USB, or analog through an audio cable) so that I could hook it into the input of an SDR receiver and view the spectrogram? If so, is that a higher-end radio feature, or something that's somewhat standard?
KB1WTY

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2013, 09:18:26 AM »

You know, I shouldn't have posted this. After posting I noticed (right next to it) almost the same question, answered. Sorry to waste peoples' time. Also, I found the Alinco DX-SR8T for $519, which may end up being the radio I go with when I'm ready to buy (pending reading some reviews first).
K5TED

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2013, 07:01:25 PM »