Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Fldigi setup question  (Read 14328 times)
K7FSU

Ignore
« on: September 28, 2013, 10:04:58 AM »

I've been convinced that I could either find the answer or figure it out myself; but I'm pretty much at the end at this point, so here goes...

I've been running Fldigi for a few months with a Mac, an Icom IC-7000, and a Signalink USB.  My setup works great, and I've successfully made contacts worldwide using all manner of modes.  The problem I have is this: When using PSK or RTTY, there's a pretty decent delay between the time I hit transmit and the time that the radio actually starts transmitting data.  There's a series of key-ups (on/offs) until it finally keys for good and actually starts sending the data out.

Usually it doesn't matter if there's any delay in the QSO to me, but it's pretty aggravating during contests when you get a break in the traffic and attempt to answer a CQ only to have to wait on it to finally key fully.  It only does this for the data modes....example - CW is instantaneous with no delay.  I don't have the delay pot on the Signalink dialed up (it's bottomed out).  Write delay on the rig control in Fldigi is only 5 ms (RigCAT).  I've experimented with various settings, but they've made no difference.

I know there has to be a simple solution to some setting(s) I have.  It's frustrating to see snap replies to CQ calls and know that my system "should" be able to do the same but isn't quite there.  Anyone have suggestions?

- Kevin
K3DCW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2013, 03:03:14 PM »

Sounds like one of two things to me.  Either;

1) Your drive level into the SignaLink USB is insufficient

or

2) You may have the PTT delay set on the SignaLink too high.