Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Good used HF rigs that have internal 120V power supply?  (Read 7190 times)
WS4E
Member

Posts: 199




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2014, 08:17:38 AM »

Icom and Kenwood used 120v for lots of their radios until the 90s or so.  Then everyone switched to external 12v.  

That is good because some of the most common things to cause problems on old rigs like the IC-781 was the internal power supply.  

Why have a $2000 go dead just because an internal AC/DC power supply failed or overheated being in a tiny space inside the rig?  

It's BETTER design I believe to keep the AC/DC power supply conversion outside of the radio in the long run.  
Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 368




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2014, 12:27:07 PM »

That's why I like my 990. If the internal supply craps out, I hook up my Astron.
Logged
AA9G
Member

Posts: 82




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2014, 07:28:39 PM »

A K3 fits the bill but rare to see a used one for sale.

Since when does a K3 have an internal 120 volt power supply?

You are correct, I have no idea where I got that idea but having double checked, it does not.
Logged

Ex KC9EEV.
N2ADV
Member

Posts: 44




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2014, 07:19:34 AM »

A K3 fits the bill but rare to see a used one for sale.
Really?  My K3 has no internal power supply that I could find...
Logged
KW6LA
Member

Posts: 91




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2014, 06:17:25 PM »

Yaesu FT990 AC/DC model   Cry
Logged
N2ADV
Member

Posts: 44




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: April 10, 2014, 05:25:42 AM »

A K3 fits the bill but rare to see a used one for sale.

Since when does a K3 have an internal 120 volt power supply?
I just checked mine to be sure lol - nope, not seeing one!
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!