Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can you take the General test immediately after taking the Technician one?  (Read 10633 times)
KD0YSX

Ignore
« on: December 23, 2013, 10:17:37 AM »

Hi,

Planning on taking the test for my Technician license in the early part of January.

I fully intend to get my General as soon thereafter as possible.

I am studying for both tests.

I am wondering, if I make advance arrangements with the Examiner, could I take the General test immediately after passing the Technician test, as I hope will be the case? Or must there be a waiting period, or must the testing happen in separate sessions?

thanks,

KR4BD

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 12:26:56 PM »

You CAN take the General and even the EXTRA all in one sitting as long as you keep passing.  And, you can do all this for just ONE FEE....as long as you keep passing at that session. 

Tom, KR4BD
VE for ARRL, W5YI & WCARS
K7MEM

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 01:32:55 PM »

Yes. Because they grade the test as soon as you turn it in, you can take the ham license tests sequentially in a single session. That is how I did it. And, as KR4BD says, there is usually only a single fee.

I took the Technician and General tests in a single session and the Advanced and Extra in another single session. Each session cost me $8.45. However, that was some time ago and yours will probably be more. My testing included the 13 and 20 WPM Morse code tests, but you don't have to worry about those any more.