Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Asking "What is the best"  (Read 1000 times)
KD6OJG

Ignore
« on: January 18, 2014, 04:47:01 PM »

Are you allowed to ask what particular company product is the best on this forum.  I've never done it before and want to know if it's okay?
N5VTU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2014, 04:52:54 PM »

You can ask it, but the only thing you'll get for answers will be conjecture and opinion.  Happens every day on here.  Have you looked at the reviews for the particular company or equipment you're interested in?  Those are largely subjective and opinion based, but perhaps you can see trends in reviews and then draw a conclusion.

Stephen

N5VTU
KD6OJG

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2014, 05:32:07 PM »

All I want to know about is roof mount tripods.  I swear all these companies products look the same.

Here's the problem; it seems that for every company that makes tripods they have two versions, a regular and a "heavy duty" version.  Someone complained on Amazon.com that they ordered a tripod but they didn't receive the one they thought they were buying.  In all these company's literature they don't specify a model number for a regular or heavy duty.

All I want is a 2 foot, heavy duty roof mount tripod and I want to know who makes the best one.

N0IU

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2014, 09:34:46 PM »

What exactly do you want to use this tripod for? What kind of antenna are you planning to use on it? Is it for some sort of vertical or a beam that will require a rotor?