Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Got a Drake 2-NT, now what?  (Read 4279 times)
KJ6DRG

Ignore
« on: January 10, 2014, 03:02:50 PM »

Hi everyone,
I'm new to tubes but I am pretty excited about the transmitter I just got. A local ham gifted me a Drake 2-NT he had sitting in the shack. It hasn't been used in years but it turns on, makes a nice humming sound like old electronics do, and all the tubes start glowing like tubes do. For someone who has only had "modern" tranceivers, this new excitement is completely foreign to me! I printed out a copy of the manual and read it but I'm still a bit confused as to what I'm supposed to do with this thing. I currently have no money for a receiver (I will eventually purchase a 2-C  to match this radio) but I was wondering if there is an easy way to use my FT-817 as a receiver. I also have no crystals so I figured I could keep my eyes peeled for a standalone VFO to control the 2-NT, maybe buy a couple crystals in the meantime.

I guess my real question is, how does one use a transmitter like the 2-NT? I know this question probably sounds totally stupid but I really want to use this transmitter.

Thanks  Smiley
NK6Q

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 05:30:38 PM »

The manual should have tune-up instructions (i.e. dipping the plate, increasing the load), but you will need an appropriate crystal and antenna load.  A 100 w dummy load is plenty for a 2NT.

FYI: the "NT" stands for Novice Transmitter.  When the 2C and 2NT came out, they were considered the Rolls Royce of Novice stations because of their performance and price!

Bill in Pasadena
NK6Q
KQ6Q

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2014, 09:52:38 PM »

to safely use the 2NT as a transmitter while you use your 817 as the receiver, you'll need a coax switch or a coax type antenna relay, as well as crystals or a VFO.