Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Sending RYRY in RTTY  (Read 1063 times)
VE7AXU

Ignore
« on: May 15, 2005, 06:38:35 AM »

I'm new to RTTY and trying to figure out the operating protocols. I noticed that my RTTY software has a macro for sending a string of RYRYRYs. I've evenseen this on the screen but cannot figure out why its sent or when it should be used.
KG4RUL

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2005, 07:17:18 AM »

IN THE DAYS OF MECHANICAL RTTY, THE "R" AND THE "Y" LETTERS EXERCIZED ALL FIVE OF THE "BITS" OF THE FIVE-BIT BAUDOT CODE. CLEAR "RYRYRYRYS" MEANT THE MACHINERY WAS TIMED AND RUNNING CORRECTLY.

"THE QUICK BROWN FOX JUMPS OVER THE LAZY DOG" LINE IN A TEST TRANSMISSION USES EVERY LETTER OF THE ALPHABET AT LEAST ONCE.

NEITHER "RYRYRY" OR "THE QUICK BROWN FOX" ARE REALLY NECESSARY.  HOWEVER, WE STILL USE THEM FOR TRADITION, AND BECAUSE THEY STILL SERVE A SIMILAR PURPOSE.

DENNIS KG4RUL
KE4MOB

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2005, 07:30:28 AM »

Actually, I still use them for two good reasons.

1.  Once you hear the "churn-churn-churn" sound of an RYRY tape at 45 baud, you'll never forget it.  I know IMMEDIATELY once I hear that what mode and baudrate I need to set my TNC to copy.

2.  By sending "The Quick Brown Fox" I'm sending a standard text string for people to tune on.

My CQ tape looks like this:

String of RY's
The quick brown fox
CQ CQ CQ de KE4MOB KE4MOB KE4MOB (3 times)
The quick brown fox
String of RY's
WB4M

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2005, 01:51:20 PM »

IN THE DAYS OF MECHANICAL RTTY, THE "R" AND THE "Y" LETTERS EXERCIZED ALL FIVE OF THE "BITS" OF THE FIVE-BIT BAUDOT CODE. CLEAR "RYRYRYRYS" MEANT THE MACHINERY WAS TIMED AND RUNNING CORRECTLY.