Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Do I need to submit a log?  (Read 895 times)
ILDARIN

Ignore
« on: October 05, 2014, 09:57:52 AM »

I'm pretty new to ham radio (first licensed last year, first HF radio last month).

I'm exploring the hobby;  at the moment, I'm most interested in DX contacts.

I'm not (yet) particularly interested in contesting or accumulating points or exchanging QSL cards, just making contacts.

During the last week, propagation has been very good, and I've made a bunch of contacts in New Zealand and Australia during their Oceania DX contests.

My question is, am I screwing up their contacts if I'm not submitting any logs?

I've logged the serial numbers they gave me, and they assign me 001 when I say I'm not part of the contest, but nobody's said anything about any obligation to submit a log...
DL8MBS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2014, 02:04:44 PM »

Hi Ildarin,
easy answer: It is neither necessary nor required for you to submit a log. There are only extremely few contests which will delete a particicpant the qso if the log of the corresponding station (=yours) for this contact misses.

Better answer: Whenever possible you should try to submit a log, because:

It very much helps to improve the quality of logchecking for the organizers. If somene claims in his log to have contacted DL8MBS and to have received 59 123 from him, but DL8MBS had not submitted a log, it is somewhat difficult to check whether the claim is ok. So - the more logs the higher the quality of logchecking.

You can submit a checklog which will be used for this checking purpose only and your score with qso number will not be published, but you will "only" be mentioned in the category "checklogs" with a "Thank You" from the organizers.