The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Basic tutorial on setting up ARCP-480 - as on my station  (Read 12488 times)
WD8OQX

Ignore
« on: March 09, 2015, 05:44:08 PM »

DISCLAIMER: Even though I am a retired Network Admin., I claim NO REAL KNOWLEDGE of the software in the ARCP-480 package. Only that I got it working on MY setup. And wish to share what I found out in doing so in hopes that it will lessen the "headaches".   Wink

This tutorial is based on my setup only. (this is also a LAN setup) I plan not to give extreme details or total step by step instructions. I also, assume that all readers have at least a working knowledge of networking and understand their computers. With that said, lets get started.

What you'll need:
Two computers, one for host & one for remote
Your TS-480 (either one – sat or HX)
A serial cable or a USB to serial cable (I use the RT Systems – usb-63), possibly a driver.
Audio cables – the ones described in the programs help, or in my case, a Signalink USB
A copy of ARCP-480

The first thing to do is make the audio cable as per the instructions in the help, if those are what you are going to use. If you use the Signalink as I did, then that will need to be set up & working. See the instructions that came with the Signalink.