Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: General to Extra Class: where to start  (Read 9209 times)
N5GZH

Ignore
« on: February 08, 2014, 01:39:47 AM »

I've been a licensed General Class operator since way before the code requirement was changed and would like to upgrade to Extra Class. 

What is the best way to prepare for the Extra Class exam while spending a minimum of $$ on study materials?  Suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jim Fisher
N5GZH
W1JKA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2014, 04:24:09 AM »

Being a General that long you already know more than most of the recent day Extras and you have already paid for an upgrade course, Just review [Ham Exams] here under eHam RESOURCES. You will have no problem passing.
N0IU

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2014, 04:44:36 AM »

The entire Extra Class question pool can be found here: http://www.ncvec.org/page.php?id=356. You have your choice of downloading it in DOC, TXT and PDF format.

Also, the Gordon West WB6NOA books come highly recommended. The study guide is available as a book by itself or with a CD that includes interactive test software. Several people have it, but you best bet might be to buy it from Amazon.

OK, so the book + CD package is $35. But here's what I did after I passed my Extra back in the dark ages... I brought my book to the test session and after I passed, I gave the book to the someone I knew that just passed their Advanced test. Of course there are no more new Advanced Class licenses being issued, so you can pass it along to someone who just passed their General. I think the kids today call that "paying it forward". In my day, we just called that being nice!

K3NRX

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2014, 05:28:00 AM »

I've been a licensed General Class operator since way before the code requirement was changed and would like to upgrade to Extra Class.