Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Good used HF rigs that have internal 120V power supply?  (Read 7906 times)
WA2ISE
Member

Posts: 123




Ignore
« on: February 22, 2014, 06:45:46 PM »

Was wondering if there are any such late manufacture rigs that don't need an external power supply.  IE, just plug into 120V. 
Logged
K2GWK
Member

Posts: 378


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2014, 07:33:38 PM »

I would look at the FT1000MP MK5.
Logged

K2GWK Website

Stupidity for Dummies (http://stupidityfordummies.com/)

…because sometimes, you just can’t dumb it down enough…
K8AC
Member

Posts: 1465




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2014, 11:51:06 AM »

Not so recent, but a solid rig: Icom IC-765.  Had an internal switching supply that had no birdies or noise. 
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5492




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2014, 01:34:10 PM »

Going back a bit further, a Kenwood TS 530s or 830s in good shape is still a solid performer. I still have my 830.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
KD0PBO
Member

Posts: 67




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2014, 06:25:59 PM »

A lot of the early Yaesu "FT" series tube rigs had the 120v option. My FT-101B is one such radio. Granted, it still has the old style double prong plug with no edge guard that would zap you if you weren't careful plugging it in but hey it still works!  Grin.

I don't know of many newer rigs that have the 120v option though..
Logged
KS2G
Member

Posts: 370




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2014, 09:29:34 AM »

Was wondering if there are any such late manufacture rigs that don't need an external power supply.  IE, just plug into 120V. 

Kenwood TS-990S

I saw a used one available for only $7,000.  Smiley
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12701




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2014, 09:53:32 AM »

Personally, I'd rather have an external supply. If an internal supply fails then you may have to scrap the whole radio if you can't find repair parts. If it's a switching supply you will likely at least have to send the radio off to the factory for repair. In addition, having the radio operate from 12VDC makes it easy to power from a battery in the event of a power outage.

I had an IC765 which had an internal supply and it worked quite nicely and never failed. The supply was contained in a sealed metal case for RFI purposes so it really wasn't very repairable.
Logged
W4KYR
Member

Posts: 480




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2014, 10:24:42 AM »

You can buy an internal 120V supply for the Yaesu FT 897.
Logged

Still using Windows XP Pro.
AF5CC
Member

Posts: 822




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2014, 10:07:02 PM »

The Kenwood TS950 is a great, older radio with 2 receivers and a built in PS. Wish I would have kept the one I had.  The Icom 736 has a built in PS, built in keyer, built in autotuner, and does 6m as well!

John AF5CC
Logged
KG6YSF
Member

Posts: 91




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2014, 11:03:21 PM »

The Kenwood TS940SAT is awesome!
Logged

"Rangers Lead The Way!"  "Sua Sponte"   "Litalis Velox Silens"
When all else fails ham radio is there!
FT2900, FT8900, VX6, Ft60, TS940SAT, Drake TR7, MFJ 969
AA9G
Member

Posts: 82




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2014, 09:09:52 AM »

A K3 fits the bill but rare to see a used one for sale.
Logged

Ex KC9EEV.
K3GM
Member

Posts: 1769




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2014, 09:58:08 AM »

The Yaesu FT-902DM was designed to run directly off of 120VAC (actually 100-235VAC)  But it had the option of being powered from +12VDC as well for mobile use using the supplied DC to DC converter.  Getting it to hang under the dash was another story!  I use to occasionally bring it, and place it on the passenger seat and operate from a fixed location, a remote parking space in a shopping mall during my wife's infamously long shopping sprees.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2014, 10:05:25 AM by K3GM » Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 376




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2014, 12:24:35 PM »

Yaesu FT990 AC/DC model. Best of both worlds! Used around $700.
Logged
K2GWK
Member

Posts: 378


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2014, 12:34:38 PM »

A K3 fits the bill but rare to see a used one for sale.

Since when does a K3 have an internal 120 volt power supply?
Logged

K2GWK Website

Stupidity for Dummies (http://stupidityfordummies.com/)

…because sometimes, you just can’t dumb it down enough…
K3LRH
Member

Posts: 56




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2014, 02:56:03 PM »

.........ft-2000
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!