Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting started with QRP  (Read 7786 times)
NZ9C

Ignore
« on: March 08, 2014, 08:24:07 PM »

I've been lucky and been able to operate club stations since getting my ticket.  I'm ready to get my own station going, and want to start with a SSB QRP rig. Why SSB? I just started learning CW at lcwo.net. When I started the second lesson (three letters), I found I needed to slow the settings to 18 wpm. Why QRP? I like the idea of running low power, and being able to get portable.

What's a good rig to start with? I've been looking at the MFJ 9300 series.

Richard
F8WBD

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 01:17:02 AM »

I won't try to convince you that it would be best to concentrate on perfecting your cw skills at home for now and take advantage of the club for your ssb activities.

A working 40-meter band MFJ Cub and good antenna would allow you to practice copying code and eventually make your first cw QSO.

I am aware of three QRP CW and SSB rigs currently on the market. The KX3, Ten-Tec Argonaut, and FT-817ND. There may be others.

The FT-817 is the least expensive, new, and has a very good reputation. Of the three, the one found most often on the used market.

I'm sure you will receive suggestions to purchase a used QRO rig and turn the power down to 5 watts.

Whatever you decide, don't be discouraged with your cw progress. Relax and stay with it.

73 es GL
W1JKA

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 05:15:35 AM »

Re: KB1ZVX