Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie, looking for HF radio....  (Read 4548 times)
ND8K

Ignore
« on: March 28, 2014, 01:25:57 PM »

Hello all. Yes, I am a newbie. I passed Tech on Mar 5, General on Mar 15, and I hope to pass the Extra tomorrow morning.  That said, I have zero experience  with HF radios.   I have been on 2m/440 VHF/UHF FM for a month... no problems. 

The problem is I have zero experience with HF, the closest club is about 20 miles away (I will probably still join), the closest ham radio shop is about 50 miles away. The problem for me, is that I really don't know about what might be necessary IN THE FUTURE... I don't know what I don't know!.

So I have combed craigslist for a month, and a bunch of radios have come and gone, but they were either dinosaurs, or too close to gigaparts pricing for me to purchase used (or a bunch of flakes on craigslist... great radios and decent prices but the people were questionable).    So, I have decided to purchase new.  And I have reduced the field to three radios:

Kenwood TS-480SAT
Yaesu FT-450D
Icom IC-7200

I have NO antenna tuner. I can make power supplies as necessary (I have several).  I am planning on a G5RV in my backyard. After reading dozens and dozens of reviews, I still cannot decide.

I am leaning towards the IC-7200 for its low noise and IF DSP technology, and a USB interface. But is has not 6m/10m FM, and I dont know how important that might be (if ever).

I am leaning towards the TS-480SAT for what many say is a good antenna tuner, and for what LOOKS to be the best user interface of the three, and for its low noise. No IF DSP.