Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why srtrong SSB signals that won't tune to intelligibility??  (Read 30457 times)
KD0ZGW
Member

Posts: 130




Ignore
« on: April 13, 2014, 06:34:09 AM »

FT840 with g5rv at 40'

I've had several occasions when a seemingly strong signal couldn't be tuned so I could understand it.  sound was like I was off freq. but tuning above and below to loss of signal didn't clear it up.  Receiver was on correct sideband.

has happened on 20 and 10m and maybe others.

suggestions?
Logged
KG6AF
Member

Posts: 357




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2014, 08:40:13 AM »

FT840 with g5rv at 40'

I've had several occasions when a seemingly strong signal couldn't be tuned so I could understand it.  sound was like I was off freq. but tuning above and below to loss of signal didn't clear it up.  Receiver was on correct sideband.

has happened on 20 and 10m and maybe others.

suggestions?

The person transmitting might not be using the "correct" sideband.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2014, 08:44:29 AM by KG6AF » Logged
KD0ZGW
Member

Posts: 130




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2014, 10:11:26 AM »

Not wrong sideband; I check that when I am trying to tune those signals.
Logged
K5TED
Member

Posts: 731




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2014, 11:52:49 AM »

What frequencies are you trying to tune? Are they in the amateur bands or outside, on utility segments? There is a fair amount of SSB traffic on the utility bands that are using either inverted or otherwise scrambled SSB.
Logged
KD0ZGW
Member

Posts: 130




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2014, 01:33:36 PM »

signals are in the ham bands.
Logged
RENTON481
Member

Posts: 62




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2014, 09:10:29 PM »

Maybe you have something either switched on that needs to be switched off, or vice versa?

Maybe an AGC setting needs to be adjusted (if there is one on the Yaesu radio)?
Logged
N1DVJ
Member

Posts: 491




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2014, 07:44:52 AM »

With a strong signal, could it be that you are actually listening to the supressed sideband upside down?  Like listening to the wrong sideband on a DSBSC signal.
Logged
W8MW
Member

Posts: 326




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2014, 06:14:54 PM »

Based on the info you've provided it sounds like you are listening to the opposite sideband.  If it happens again, switch sidebands, re-tune and see if that doesn't clear up the issue.  An experiment you might try is tune into a SSB signal that you are receiving correctly.  Then switch sideband and re-tune the signal.  If you get the same unintelligible result you have confirmed the original issue.

73 Mike W8MW
Logged
KF7CG
Member

Posts: 836




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2014, 01:56:31 PM »

Could also be hunters or others that are using "export" radios for communication. They often do not know, care, or want to know the coventions of where they operate. A frequency setting and sideband setting is chosen for the day and used. They are looking for privacy and anything that makes them unintelligible to anyone other than their group is a plus.

So by all means check the other sideband when you hear one, no telling what you will find.

KF7CG
Logged
K8KAS
Member

Posts: 569




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2014, 05:19:57 AM »

Simple front end over load, the 840 is not known for it dynamic range, that's why they provide you padding to lower the front end signal level, lot of radios do this...73 Denny K8KAS
Logged
KB8VIV
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2014, 06:11:44 AM »

+1

Simple front end over load, the 840 is not known for it dynamic range, that's why they provide you padding to lower the front end signal level, lot of radios do this...73 Denny K8KAS
Logged
N4UE
Member

Posts: 296




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2014, 04:38:03 PM »

Turn off the Noise Blanker?

ron
Logged
K5BM
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2014, 07:08:46 PM »

It could be flat topping or the amplifier is biased too close to cutoff(class C).
Tom, k5bm
Logged
K6AER
Member

Posts: 3518




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2014, 07:20:28 PM »

One person got close...turn down the RF  gain control.
Logged
KD8IIC
Member

Posts: 159




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2014, 12:39:47 PM »

   Tnx AER....You're right on the mark with it...I find most every CW and SSB signal can be cleaned up very well by simply cutting back about a quater to a half turn on the RF Gain and turn up the volume to compensate, also the built in attenuators on some rigs will help as well.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!