Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How can I install a good earthing point?  (Read 7465 times)
M6YDB
Member

Posts: 47




Ignore
« on: May 21, 2014, 07:22:56 AM »

Hi all

My 'shack' is actually my attic so three stories up.

What is the best way for me to install a good grounding point for my kit?

Thanks all for your help

73

Danny M6 YDB
Logged
KD0REQ
Member

Posts: 950




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2014, 09:04:26 AM »

one option is an artificial ground, essentially another tuner placing a counterpoise

http://www.mfjenterprises.com/Product.php?productid=MFJ-931

you could run a nice long #6 wire down the outside to a ground field, too.  probably need some ferrites on it to kill spurious resonances. the artificial ground does not provide a DC ground, and a long ground wire introduces RCL components of its own but is going to be more electrical-code friendly.

the old 1920s "hook a wire to the cold water pipe" trick has drawbacks in these days of plastic pipe, and it is alleged it could make the pipes "bite" if you touched them key-down, too.  not the best solution.

in any event, putting a real solid groud that high up makes you a little more inviting to thunderstorms...
Logged
W6UV
Member

Posts: 538




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2014, 06:03:09 PM »

Are you talking about an electrical safety ground or an RF ground?
Logged
M6YDB
Member

Posts: 47




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2014, 02:09:04 AM »

A good RF ground is what I'm looking for
Logged
K1CJS
Member

Posts: 6034




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2014, 07:20:07 AM »

You would be better off with a balanced antenna if you could put one up.  RF grounding from a third floor shack is fraught with problems because of the length above actual ground of the grounding conductor.  It isn't impossible, but it is very problematic when changing bands--the length of the ground conductor may all too easily be right at resonance with a frequency or frequency multiple you're attempting to transmit on.  That is why ground cable are always kept as short as possible--to avoid that possibility.
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12854




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2014, 08:01:05 AM »

What is your antenna situation?
Logged
K1DA
Member

Posts: 507




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2014, 03:36:27 PM »

I suggest reading the grounding info published by W8JI which can be accessed simply by Googling his call;.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!