Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Those aggrivating pauses...Windows 8 and DM780  (Read 4037 times)
KE4JOY
Member

Posts: 1358




Ignore
« on: May 27, 2014, 03:04:42 PM »

I am running HRD and DM780 on a 'newer' laptop running Winders 8. The program runs fine but every once in a while the waterfall and program 'hangs' for a second or so at random.

It did not do this on my older laptop which was running winders 7

Oh yea I use a USB soundcard as the audio interface.

Any thoughts on what I might look at?
Logged
VA2FSQ
Member

Posts: 510




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2014, 11:22:32 PM »

Its hard to say what is happening but an excellent tool is latencymon.  http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon
You can get an idea of just what is consuming what in real time.  Perhaps you can catch it at the right moment.
Tom va2fsq
Logged

VA2FSQ
KE4JOY
Member

Posts: 1358




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2014, 03:04:58 PM »

I think I have narrowed it down to a process called "Windows audio graph isolation".

It is a driver that evidently controls how and when programs can access the audio channels and also something to do with drm.
I found it using windows task manager and just watching what happens when the pauses hits and that driver consistantly pops to the top of the list.

Evidently I am not the only user that has noticed this behaviour in my research I came accross several postings complaining about this process being a resource hog at times grabbing large chunks of memory.

I tried stopping the process but it pops right back up. I tried NOT starting it at boot but it starts up anyhow.

If I make any further progress I will post what I figure out as it may help someone in the future
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2708


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2014, 04:10:32 PM »

This is the result of using a non-deterministic operating system to process real-time events.  In other words, WIN8 processes run almost randomly instead of the highest priority process always being processed when it is needed.
Logged
WG8Z
Member

Posts: 189




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2014, 04:26:16 PM »



Any thoughts on what I might look at?

Dumping Win 8
Logged
KI6LZ
Member

Posts: 579




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2014, 04:29:39 PM »

Can't set process priorities in Win8 like Win7?
Logged
KE4JOY
Member

Posts: 1358




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2014, 07:13:48 PM »

Evidently you can set prioitys and affinitys but "Access Denied!!"... Sigh

I downloaded the latest version of HRD DM780 to check and the problem persists if not worse...
Logged
KE4JOY
Member

Posts: 1358




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2014, 01:29:56 PM »

Okay... solved... sort of...

I made two changes that have seemed to help.

First I had to change the power feature (using control panel) to "High Peformance"

Second I had to set the sound device "Let applications take exclusive control"

The pauses are still there but there only like 1/4 second now.
Logged
K3DCW
Member

Posts: 189




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2014, 05:37:22 PM »

Oh yea I use a USB soundcard as the audio interface.

Any thoughts on what I might look at?

Is your USB sound source being put to sleep?  Windows allows the system to power down USB devices whenever the system thinks they're not needed.  That can be turned off in many places; easiest is under power management.

73

Dave
K3DCW
Logged

Hamming it up on OS X!
www.machamradio.com
KE4JOY
Member

Posts: 1358




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2014, 06:07:34 AM »

Might well be it Dave, see my post above about changing the power settings. Thanks for the input.

In my research I have read many other 'complaints' about this process 'audiodg.exe' becoming a resource hog on apps other than DRM780.
Logged
K3DCW
Member

Posts: 189




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2014, 07:57:14 AM »

Might well be it Dave, see my post above about changing the power settings. Thanks for the input.

In my research I have read many other 'complaints' about this process 'audiodg.exe' becoming a resource hog on apps other than DRM780.

Well, the USB power setting is a distinct setting that can be turned on/of separate from the overall power settings.  In fact, the "High Performance" setting still defaults to having the USB select suspend set to Enabled.  This allows the system to turn on/off the USB devices, including your USB audio device if it "thinks" it isn't in use.  So, go to your power settings, choose "Change advanced power settings", "USB settings", "USB select suspend setting" and change it from Enabled to Disabled.

Also, while it isn't always an issue, I have seen the exclusive mode on the sound cards cause problems ; and the exclusive mode is on by default.  You can check and/or disable this by right clicking on your volume control in the taskbar, select either "Recording devices" or "Playback devices". Find your device, right click on it and chose "properties". Go to the Advanced tab and turn off both boxes under "Exclusive Mode".  Do the same for the other recording or playback side (depending upon which you chose the first time). Save your settings.  No promises that this will help, but it does make the sound card behave more smoothly with multiple programs simultaneously.

73

Dave
K3DCW
Logged

Hamming it up on OS X!
www.machamradio.com
KA5PIU
Member

Posts: 446




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2014, 04:22:34 AM »

Hello.

Windows 8 can suddenly pause, when watching a movie.
This is a brand new laptop.
I yanked the hard drive out and loaded Linux, and it works perfect! so it is not a hardware issue.
And, it can all of a sudden pause, and have some balloon pop up about Windows is installing the latest update.
Yes, this is Windows 8.
So, it has nothing to do with your program, it is Windows 8.
Remember, this is a virgin machine, I had not loaded anything onto it.
The hard drive removed has the original factory load.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5640




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2014, 09:20:54 AM »

Hello.

Windows 8 can suddenly pause, when watching a movie.
This is a brand new laptop.
I yanked the hard drive out and loaded Linux, and it works perfect! so it is not a hardware issue.
And, it can all of a sudden pause, and have some balloon pop up about Windows is installing the latest update.
Yes, this is Windows 8.
So, it has nothing to do with your program, it is Windows 8.
Remember, this is a virgin machine, I had not loaded anything onto it.
The hard drive removed has the original factory load.

No it is more or a hardware and operator thing. You never took time to learn and configure it. As far as Linux working, its because it needs less hardware because it does less too. Like going back to NT4
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
KA5PIU
Member

Posts: 446




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2014, 12:53:16 PM »

Hello.

I got the thing, new out of the box, followed all of the directions, did whatever was expected.
Windows 8 just pauses, and there is no way around it.
Remember Vista? the same was said about it.
Dell would recommend that a person buy a computer with 2 Gigs of ram, so they did not have to get Vista.
A computer company saying stay away from a Microsoft product?
Now, GE has said that Windows 8 is "A problem".
GE healthcare has said that "Windows 8 is a disaster waiting to happen".
USAA, the big insurance company, recommends against Windows 8.
Windows 8 is the new Vista.
It is kind of like AT&T and the Picture Phone, nobody wants it!
So, Microsoft sent out all of notices that XP is no longer supported.
That may be the end of Microsoft as we know it.
The FTC is looking into why M$ is blocking 3rd party support for XP.
If the XP copyright is held to be at issue, and 3rd party companies can indeed support XP, than why buy M$?
Yes, there are 3rd party companies who want to continue supporting XP.
Remember that M$ has said they will no longer support XP.
If the courts rule XP is abandonware, that is the end.
But, it is like Netscape, the browser, had the lead but is all but gone!


Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5640




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2014, 08:28:38 PM »

Hello.

I got the thing, new out of the box, followed all of the directions, did whatever was expected.
Windows 8 just pauses, and there is no way around it.
Remember Vista? the same was said about it.
Dell would recommend that a person buy a computer with 2 Gigs of ram, so they did not have to get Vista.
A computer company saying stay away from a Microsoft product?
Now, GE has said that Windows 8 is "A problem".
GE healthcare has said that "Windows 8 is a disaster waiting to happen".
USAA, the big insurance company, recommends against Windows 8.
Windows 8 is the new Vista.
It is kind of like AT&T and the Picture Phone, nobody wants it!
So, Microsoft sent out all of notices that XP is no longer supported.
That may be the end of Microsoft as we know it.
The FTC is looking into why M$ is blocking 3rd party support for XP.
If the XP copyright is held to be at issue, and 3rd party companies can indeed support XP, than why buy M$?
Yes, there are 3rd party companies who want to continue supporting XP.
Remember that M$ has said they will no longer support XP.
If the courts rule XP is abandonware, that is the end.
But, it is like Netscape, the browser, had the lead but is all but gone!




Vista's problem was software was ahead of hardware and vista should of never shipped with 512m or even a  gig real world. With 2 gig or more on good hardware 32 bit vista runs fine. Win 8 on 2 gig is marginal, 4 gig minimum is what you want. (unless you have win rt on a tablet which is far more efficient and 2 gig is fine) The delay or pauses is from it paging swapping code to swap file due to limited ram. One tip is you should never really like winsome manage swap file size. Do it yourself. As swap file size increases, usable RAM decreases because it is used to track increased swap file size. Also if you install a SSD in place of stock drive it will help a lot because swaps will be much quicker.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!