Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: When did Elmer die?  (Read 20764 times)
AC2EU

Ignore
« on: June 30, 2014, 08:05:35 AM »

Hello all,

I'm not a young guy, but I am relatively new to AR. I have been learning CW pretty much on my own, since the club CW guys like to see themselves as elite and anyone who can't do 30 wpm or doesn't know everything about being a CW op is just a LID.
They don't seem to have any interest in reducing the "LID population" by teaching or mentoring, either.

On field day , I got yelled at for not jumping on a CW CQ fast enough by one of the elite. The fact of the matter was that I simply wanted to listen for a second time to make sure I got the call correct. They were 20-30 WPM exchanges which were a stretch for me to copy.
When did all of this stop being fun and become a blood sport?

Elmer must have been a great guy, but I am yet to meet him. Has he passed on?

AF6WL

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2014, 08:23:32 AM »

Less haste more speed ... I also hear so many fast calls with no reply and wonder if just slowing down occasionally would result in more QSOs .

Are there some stats showing morse reading speed over the population of active amateurs - I'm sure that distribution would not be centered on 25wpm. Perhaps it's bimodal 12 and 25 ?
K6CPO

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2014, 09:58:29 AM »

Hello all,

I'm not a young guy, but I am relatively new to AR. I have been learning CW pretty much on my own, since the club CW guys like to see themselves as elite and anyone who can't do 30 wpm or doesn't know everything about being a CW op is just a LID.
They don't seem to have any interest in reducing the "LID population" by teaching or mentoring, either.