Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hamscope Question -PSK31- Operating tips  (Read 1797 times)
W5ALF

Ignore
« on: July 17, 2008, 08:11:49 AM »

1st off I want to say that I'm very new to the digital modes. My particular issue at the moment is using HAMSCOPE on psk31 with a Signalink USB interface on an XP laptop

I'm trying to keep from becoming a nuisance on the waterfall. I've read a good number of articles on drifting up an down the waterfall during a qso.

I'm having "issues" I guess having to move around the waterfall during a qso. I seem to have to make a slight move on the wf to catch a qso reply..its not much but enough that it sometimes results in missing part of other HAM's transmission.

If possible I'd just like to pick a clear spot on the wf and hang out there until I'm through operating. That way the other person would not have to chase me.

So my Hamscope question is this:
Would it be best then to set the TX and the RX on the exact same freq?

I'd appreciate some constructive operating tips
W0GLB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 09:18:26 AM »

Not really familiar with Hamscope, but see if it has an AFC feature, and if so, ensure that it is enabled.  You definitely want to tx and rx on the same frequency--minimal bandwidth usage is one of the great features of this mode.  If you continue to face this problem with Hamscope, try HRD/DM780--its free, and ridiculously user friendly, and does have the AFC feature.

GL es 73,

Gordon, W0GLB
VA7CPC

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2008, 12:34:39 AM »

I've never heard of working PSK31 "split" -- with different RX and TX frequencies.   It would be very unusual -- I can imagine it being useful for a DXpedition with a gazillion stations calling, but that's about all.