eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | Ultra Beam UB-50 6-40m Help


Reviews Summary for Ultra Beam UB-50 6-40m
Ultra Beam UB-50 6-40m Reviews: 7 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $2.200,00 Euro
Description: COMPACT 6-40 METERS YAGI

Product is in production.
More info: http://www.ultrabeam.it
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Ultra Beam UB-50 6-40m.

ZL2HAM Rating: 2/5 Jan 8, 2016 20:23 Send this review to a friend
Decent RF, but breaks often in moderate wind  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got my UB-50 in 2012, with the 6m kit.

Assembly was tedious, but not particularly difficult, although getting some of the smaller tubing parts to line-up just right was tricky.

RF performance on 10, 12, 17 and 20 has been pretty good. Decent RX/TX with an SWR that adjusts as I tune the radio (the controller automatically adjusts the element lengths).

Perf on 40 has been poor -- worse than I expected with a single element; not much better than my 1/4 wave vertical. In spite of numerous attempts and adjustments, perf on 6m is terrible. No F/B, and impossible to tune well.

Mechanically, I haven't had any trouble with the motors or the moving parts of the antenna; no sticking or glitching or anything like that.

My biggest complaint is that the design doesn't hold-up in even moderate wind. At about 70 km/h, something often breaks. The dealer has been nice about sending parts and so on, but having to go up to the antenna to make the fix is a huge pain. The joints in the fiberglass tubing are held together with rubber waterproofing tape covered by electrical tape, but between the wind and UV, it's just not durable.
 
PA0ZH Rating: 2/5 Feb 22, 2015 07:57 Send this review to a friend
Ultra beam 6-40 2 elm  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Hallo,

Just like every one on this forum, the antenne work great.
But......on 15 meters I can get the best SWR as director and driver have exact the same length.
As I say, only 15 meters, the other bands have a resonable different in legths between driver and director.
Some one have the same expirience ??
73 Bouke PA0ZH
 
VK4SX Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2014 16:19 Send this review to a friend
Simply fantastic  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
just a follow up to my NOV 2013 review, my opinion has been fortified immensely, WOW, what an antenna, 7Mhz thru 50Mhz on one coaxial feedline, if that isn't a bonus in it's self, the performance is quite outstanding, I believe from NON Scientific on air tests with EU/ Nth American stations, that the proclaimed figures are every bit accurate,
I have received some wonderful reports from LOW power testing, the Front to Back ratio is stunning really, it belies the fact it is only a 3el mono band yagi, 14-50Mhz,
extremely well built, and it works as well, a Hams Dream.
Cheers

 
IZ2XMK Rating: 5/5 Dec 2, 2013 19:47 Send this review to a friend
Warning it is Killing the Hobby  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
With 29 Kg and 0.67 sqm wind area You have the equivalent of six mono band full size and two rigid dipoles (for 30 and 40m) which will allow you to connect everything what you can ear with the power of your radio and just one coax line. Compare by Yourself with alluminium multiband fullsize alternative options and try to calculate how much Kg, wind area and evevation system plus rotators You'll need to setup to get on the same level. There is just one point; this antenna is basically killing the hobby; the "try and compare" game with new and better performing solutions or just the constant "Dreaming about the next .." will come to an end .
Concerning performances you may better sell your amplifier and try by yourself; I have to say I am reasonably impressed by this system and have to neport no problems at all so far. If You are thinking and dreaming to improve your performances in HF not having the possibilities for imponent elevation infrastructures I can hardly imagine You may find a better solution.
Good DX to You all,
73 de IZ2XMK.
 
SP7IDX Rating: 5/5 Nov 15, 2013 00:54 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Performer   Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I LOVE this antenna. It's simply the best HF beam I've used, and is probably the best HF beam out there,
The sheer pleasure of QSYing 6-40m

-Perfect match everywhere is only surpassed by the ease of going 180 degrees to check out the long path.
-180deg polar electrical reversal in around 3 seconds
-Terrific front back performance.
-Near perfect SWR wherever you choose to go.
-At the press of a button in the shack you can redesign the antenna and save the settings for forward, reverse and dipole mode, to suit your operating requirements giving better front to back or forward gain.
-Somehow very high performance and materials FANTASTIC !
-They just have to fix the installation instructions for submission of the antenna
I am enormous happy with this masterpiece.

Good Luck & Good DX
Waldi
SP7IDX
 
VK4SX Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2013 14:08 Send this review to a friend
Amazing really  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hi all, this is an early review for a wonderful antenna, after JAN 2013 floods resulting in the loss of all gear, I decided to condense all antennas from 7Mhz thru 50Mhz to a ULTRABEAM UB-50, I was a little worried the size of the antenna would be too large for my tower, the quality of the materials really have to be seen to be belived, to be honest, it has been a long time since I have seen any quality like this hardware, surprised is just one word for it, goes together like a hand in a glove, wonderful engineering, I put the antenna together using TEF-GEL, the dynamic motors that drive the tape are precise the controller is very easy to use, even for a first time Dynamic antenna user, the whole experience is a wonderful moral booster for a ham losing interest in the hobby, I am sure it will give me a new lease of life,
the actual performance of the antenna, 6m thru 20mtrs is exact as a FULL SIZE beam for the mentioned bands, no traps, no coils, just a resonant length of copper tape required for each frequency, what really surprised me was the performance results on 40/30M, quite astounding really, given I do not have it 20mtrs above ground, max height here is 12.5Mtrs, with still a wonderful result on the 2 low bands,
one run of DXE MAX-400 Direct bury to the shack, and quite a few other antennas removed from the skyline, all in all a great choice for a older type ham, to simplify the station,
great service in VK, from Carsten VK4OA, of RFSOLUTIONS in Brisbane.
worth look guys,
Cheers
Dennis VK4SX

 
DL1GLH Rating: 5/5 Oct 3, 2011 06:37 Send this review to a friend
To assemble easily  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After I have used a Titanex DLP18 for 10 years it was in the time for a new aerial...

The last week I have built up the new UB50. All parts were prepared very well and mounted in short time.

The matching to feed line is excellent and the directivity and gain as expected for a 3-element monoband yagi (on each band 14-30mc).

Also on 30 m and 40 m the aerial really works like a dipole of full size.

I am curious on the durability of the aerial and will deliver a report later again.

Up to now rating is 5!
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.