eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | M2 KT36XA Help


Reviews Summary for M2 KT36XA
M2 KT36XA Reviews: 19 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $1249
Description: High-performance tribander by M2
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.m2inc.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the M2 KT36XA.

Page 1 of 2 —>

W9XY Rating: 5/5 Nov 15, 2017 15:10 Send this review to a friend
STILL going strong!...  Time owned: more than 12 months
Sixteen years now and still a great antenna without one problem! (See my previous review of November 25, 2009 for additional info.) I never did replace the boom to mast clamps, I think they will still be good for a number of years. It's going to be a massive job to tackle when I do, I'll just inspect them more frequently at this point. Since my last review was written, I noticed the antenna has outlasted my email address and my marriage! Lol!
 
W0CP Rating: 5/5 Apr 12, 2014 17:14 Send this review to a friend
20 years up  Time owned: more than 12 months
When I put it up, I expected to have to service it every 5 years or so due to the way it is put together (lots of little parts and pieces). However, I double nutted and put loctite on all the nuts and bolt and this thing has been in the air for twenty years with no issues. The long boom and shortened linear loaded elements really work. It is an elegant compromise tribander, approaching mono bander performance, in my view.
 
N7WY Rating: 4/5 Jun 24, 2013 14:39 Send this review to a friend
Better instructions needed  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
To assemble the elements takes a table about 14 feet long, careful reading of the instructions, liberal application of NoAlOx and patience while installing over 100 8-32 screws with nylon stop nuts. A power driver is essential.
The boom goes together quickly, and then the challenge of getting all the elements aligned begins. There could be better suggestions on achieving perfection in this regard.
I employed a neon sign company to lift and attach the antenna to the tower mast. They wished that the U-bolts were longer, but soon had it attached. At that point I realized that the M2 process for pre-stressing the dacron boom guy ropes could be improved. I've had one subsequent visit by a boom truck to level the boom, and now that the ropes have settled I will likely replace them with Mastrant's ropes, reset the mast clamp, and level the boom again.
Does it work? First contact with 10 watts on SSB was Senegal with only one attempt. Since then, I have been very happy with its performance.
 
VE4TTH Rating: 5/5 Dec 24, 2012 09:06 Send this review to a friend
Worth every penny!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've read other reviews on other antennas that describe them as "pile up busters". That type of description is always subject to scrutiny. However, this antenna has been an outstanding performer, and clearly gives me an edge over many others who hunt DX. I routinely get through on the first or second call, admittedly on some occasions it does take longer. Timing naturally does influence success in working DX.

Construction time was 16 hours, starting the clock after I inventoried all the parts, and let me warn some of you, there are a lot of parts! This is not a snap together afternoon job. This antenna takes time to build, and is not a job to be rushed. READ the instructions, and don't force parts together, use water based lubricants. The antenna was exactly on the mark with the SWR readings after being tested, and required no adjustment at all. There is a lot of aluminium in the air when its hoisted up, and it sure is a good looking antenna.

As for performance, we have to understand that in my situation, I have a high water table, with a sand and gravel base under the top soil, giving me an excellent natural ground. The antenna is mounted on a 20 meter tower, and is well isolated from man made noise sources. That being said, compared to a dipole, well, there is no comparison. The dipole is great for this continent, most of South America, and it also works well for Western Europe and Japan, but that is where it stops. The KT36XA increases the signal reports both ways in all the areas covered by the dipole from an 8 or 9 to 10 over 9 and higher. In the areas that the dipole just does not work, or is weak, I can make contacts with out effort. In short, the antenna has opened up the entire world, leaving no weak zones at all. Hunting DX is easy, even when the pile up is over run with operators who call every few seconds, talking over the DX station as they respond to a call sign. (they are annoying aren't they!)

As of this writing, the antenna has been up for only 4 months. It has withstood 1 fall storm with driving rain and 80 kph winds, 2 winter storms with one covering the antenna with 3 cm of ice, and now that the temps are in the -35c range we will see how it survives the arctic freeze. In the summer the temps will climb to +40c and if their is anything more to write about, I will post a second report. If I don't post a second report, then it will have survived our extremes.

If you want to see a picture of the antenna, I have a few on my QRZ page.

73 and good DX hunting.
 
CX4BW Rating: 4/5 Aug 4, 2012 14:34 Send this review to a friend
An excellent antenna very sturdily built  Time owned: more than 12 months
Back in 1990 I had collected a lot of info on the KLM antenna. The comments were excellent on the performance of the antenna and poor on the weather resistance of it. Almost four years ago I decided to buy it. For a CX ham it's not only a question of cost but also the freight all the way from USA (90 pounds airfreight!) It took me about two weeks, two/three hours a day, to assemble it. I needed an electric screwdriver for putting together the 200 8-32 screws and nuts. All the effort was a joy once the beast (32' boom) flew to the top of the tower at 120' high. This people at M2 have done a super job! Less than 1.4:1 SWR in all three bands from CW to SSB, excellent gain and front to back and side ratio. It went up just before the 2008 CQWW SSB c'test. Almost four years of excellent service in Montevideo winds of 80 miles/hour now. A word of advice: Double check all your measuring and follow carefully the assembly manual. A great product with very good results. The only drawback: The WARC bands missing.
 
N7EO Rating: 5/5 Nov 16, 2011 14:28 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned and used the KT-34A since 1984 rebuilding and refurbishing the basic antenna with each move from four different QTH's before retiring in 1996.

In 2004 I was given a new upgrade kit by KD7HF to remake a KT-34A into the KT-34XA. This added two elements and doubled the boom length to 32 feet. The decision was made to purchase the KT-34XA to KT-36XA upgrade kit from M2 and do it all in one project. The CNC milled components from M2 add new life to the legendary KLM design.

The upgrades were time consuming but Murphy free. Having built and rebuilt KLM antennas numerous times without a hitch I can attest that the secret is reading and re-reading the instructions, measuring everything twice or more times and liberal use of Penetrox anti-seize compound on all the joints.

Due to hurricanes along the Florida Gulf Coast, my KT-36XA has been down twice with the elements removed from the boom and everything stored until the storm is past. This has allowed for a thorough inspection with no repairs or adjustments needed.

Antenna performance is fabulous and continues to draw positive comments.

The one drawback to the antenna is obvious. It is a tribander and does not cover the WARC bands.
 
KE7CRN Rating: 5/5 Apr 25, 2011 21:12 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Preformer  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this one used. I spent a couple of days rebuilding it and bringing it into current specifications. It has been trouble free for 5 years. SWR has gone high a few of times, twice when iced over and laoded with snow and once after several weeks of rain (possibly a feedline issue).

M2's support was outstanding.
 
W9XY Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2009 21:55 Send this review to a friend
Over 8 Years Old and Still Going Strong!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Just killing some time tonight and read some of the reviews on this antenna. I have to tell you that I absolutely love my KT36XA and would definitely buy another one! Performance is amazing and it has survived all kinds of wicked Wisconsin weather.

For years I had heard big signals from European stations using the trapless KLM KT34XA and had always thought of putting one up if something happened to my TH6DXX. Then I got married, we built a new house, and I found myself designing and preparing to install a new antenna system. I was all ready to buy the new KLM rather than refurbishing the old TH6, but then it was announced...KLM was going out of business! UGH! What timing!

After waiting a few months, I was happy to hear that M2 was taking over production with their version of this design, and KJ9I graciously brought me some information hot off the press from Dayton 2000. (Thanks Dave!) Shortly after, I bought one of the first KT36XA's. I took my time building it and assembled it in my basement during the winter. All went smoothly with just a few questions for the guys to clarify, in regard to the newly printed manual.

It was put up (at over 80') eight years ago now (in the spring of 2001) and has performed flawlessly. I was a little worried at first due to the crazy mix of weather we receive here in our state, but it has withstood heavy wind, driving rain, an ice storm, snow, extreme cold, and summer heat. (We get it all here!) Many times I've looked up thinking I'd see some sign of stress or deterioration, but nope, it still hangs tough!

After my recent annual fall inspection, I can see that the boom plate to mast clamps are getting quite rusty. (I'd have thought M2 would have provided stainless clamps, but maybe they do now.) Anyway, I'll have to think about replacing them in the next couple of years or so. I remember reading a review on the web (when I was researching the KLM), that the clamps gave way and the whole antenna tilted and it was getting ready to drop on one guy's house! Again, this was the old KLM version (the KT34XA), NOT the M2 version. It's only mentioned as a safety tip...remember to inspect those boom-to-mast clamps!!

My TH6DXX had been up for approximately 25 years and that also never needed attention. What I like about this antenna however, is the use of linear loading rather than lossy traps. I still have the TH6 (rebuilt and kept in storage) but I strongly believe that I made the right decision in purchasing & installing the KT36XA.

By the way, this time I mounted my Cushcraft 40-2CD 2 el 40M yagi above the KT36XA tribander, and there is 12' of separation between them. I've seen no signs of interaction, by either antenna.

If you have any questions, feel free to drop me a note or visit my website for some photos of the antenna during installation. http://www.maqs.net/~w9xy

PS - To the guys who weren't happy with this antenna for whatever reason, you should get hold of me, I wouldn't mind having another! :-)
 
N0KGM Rating: 5/5 Oct 4, 2009 18:56 Send this review to a friend
Great Signals After KT36 was installed  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I installed the KT36XA earlier this summer on top of a US TOWER HDX-555 up at 63'. The antenna works great, like others have said, there are many parts and the install is time consuming. I continue to work around the world Japan, Austalia, Europe, etc. even in the low sunspot/band conditions. I have had no issues with higher SWR during moisture/rain conditions.

One of the reasons I purchased this antenna is because I run M2 on all my VHF/UHF/SHF arrays for many years and have never had any issues. I also like the fact, I could call up, order the antenna and have it sitting at my QTH 5 days later. Most other HF Antenna providers have 3-4 month waiting time frames.

Would a buy another KT36XA - YES.
Would I recommend to others - YES.

Here is a short youtube video on the Antenna Installation:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkCOjtUcjbA

Robb - N0KGM
 
K1LI Rating: 5/5 Sep 21, 2009 09:59 Send this review to a friend
As good as advertised  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I rebuilt two KT34XA "hulks" that I was given, in various states of disrepair and disassembly, with the "upgrade" kit. Now at 50 ft and 90 ft high, these antennas ROCK. I am amazed not only by the gain but also by the front-to-back. Contrary to some other reviews, no variations in performance vs. weather. Yes, it's a long, tedious process to build and/or rebuild a KT36, but it's well worth the effort.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.