eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Tuners | Palstar HF-AUTO Help


Reviews Summary for Palstar HF-AUTO
Palstar HF-AUTO Reviews: 67 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $1495.00
Description: * 1 Watt to 2500 watts....average, peak, and peak- hold
* Load into a 10:1 SWR from 1.8 to 54 Mhz
* NO CI-V cables required
* Tunes on SSB
* Digital Display...no analog metering
* Remotable... up to 400'!
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.palstar.com/hf-auto.php
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Palstar HF-AUTO.

<— Page 2 of 7 —>

N6UG Rating: 5/5 Sep 11, 2016 07:00 Send this review to a friend
Great tuner  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've been using my HF-AUTO for less than a week and here is my initial impression.

It will tune my Doublet antenna across all bands. My previous tuner could not tune very low impedance points, 6 ohms!

It's easy to tune. Once it stores a tune setting for a freq. all it takes is a split second touch of my radio tune button. The tuner makes the correct adjustments in a few seconds.

So far, this was definitely a good buy for me.

Buying direct from Palstar was great! Very friendly, easy and fast!
 
NM6E Rating: 5/5 Jul 23, 2016 11:58 Send this review to a friend
Seamless Integration! Hands Off Auto-Tuner  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I acquired the Palstar HF-AUTO in late October 2015 in anticipation of my new, higher power amp, the SPE Expert-2K-FA. Prior to the Palstar HF-AUTO I was using an Elecraft KAT-500 with my ACOM 1011 600 watt amp. The KAT500 worked fine but I need a bit robustness with the added power (typically was running 500-600 watts with the ACOM/KAT500 combo.

Setup was relatively easy and I did the "band segment learning" in manual mode to assist it when jumping bands for a a perceived 'faster tuning'..

My antenna situation is stagnant compliments of my HOA.. I have a Zero-Five 30' Flag Pole for 80-6m. The HF-AUTO tunes all bands I have with my "flag pole" without ease. Tuning can take 1-4 seconds depending on whether I am jumping from 6m to 80m which is not typical.. I contest more so my band changes are more sequential (15 to 20, to 40 to 80 etc) so the adjustments are incremental and the time required to retune is 1-2 seconds. Again, my antenna is the key "dampener/issue" in finding that sweet spot but i did program memories to facilitate the entire process.

The tuner works great and I am happy I got it and compared to the KAT500, it is much quieter/smoother and no clacking sounds... The motors are much easier to listen to.

My setup works great as I wanted as much of an automated/seamless station knowing my stealth antenna will not change unless we move which is not in the future.

I've never done a CPU upgrade so I think I am 1 rev back...

The only button I need to press is to is turn it on and that's it. I drive the Expert 2K-FA amp with a Yaesu FTDX5000 and that is permanently set to 50w drive to the amp (controlled via the ALC to the amp).. So a simple dah or two of the CW paddle gets it tuned on frequency.

I am planning on installing a stealth Butternut vertical for 160/80/40 for the coming winter in the back yard to help more with the 160/80 bands in conjunction with the HF-AUTO to extend my BW.

Overall I love the HF-AUTO, it's "built like a tank" no issues, quality is fantastic and I normally run either 500 to 1KW and very few times at 1.5KW as there's no need between 1KW and the added possible RFI nuisance.

I power it up with a left over Astron 20 amp switching power supply which is an overkill..

Would I buy it again, yes, given my antenna options but if I was able to use tunable antennas for my primary bands, I would use the built-in tuner in the SPE Expert 2K-FA amp.
 
G8ITB Rating: 5/5 Jul 9, 2016 03:49 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Item!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
My station consists of: Icom IC-7100, Palstar HF-AUTO, 132 ft long, 300 ohm fed doublet at 42 ft agl via a Balun Designs item to the ATU. (& various ancillaries).

I also own a Palstar AT-1KP (slightly modified - see my review) which was replaced by the HF-AUTO a few months ago. The HF-AUTO was quite simple to set-up at start-up and runs without any problems. I have matched it on all bands from 160 to 6 metres at various points within the bands to both check it's functions and memory 'bins'. Construction is solid and the sound of stepper motors is a bit strange at first! The ability to change bands/frequencies quickly is a revelation - I've always used a manual ATU (except when /P or /M).
I have yet to upgrade the unit to the very latest firmware - so I cannot comment on either the procedure or results. However I would think that a USB interface rather than the RS-232 could be a standard for amateur radio accessories these days! (Palstar - take note!!). The 3-pin Foster plug for power is a bit odd; and the manual could have a better picture of the power plug connections; i.e. a real picture of the wiring!
So far; no problems! I was quite happy with the Palstar AT-1KP (see my review re the only problem) and hope that the underwhelming use I am putting the HF Auto thorough will not reveal any problems.
The only downside is that I still have to provide a low power constant carrier to initiate auto-tune! But this only takes a few seconds! Some sort of interface to modern rigs to allow use of the rig's tune button/frequency & band follow; etc. would be a positive step. (Listening Palstar!).
If I come across any issues I will either review this review (?) or post a newer one.
Richard G8ITB.
 
VE3VV Rating: 3/5 Jun 4, 2016 11:59 Send this review to a friend
Not indestructable  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Does what its supposed to do but not Indestructible
After using it successfully on 20,40 & 80 in a cw contest I switched to 1.8 mhz on an antenna I normally use the AT5K in bypass as the swr is low enough> It fried a board almost immediately, I believe I was using the appropriate 15 watts power and the HF Auto read swr =1.7.
Fast repair & shipping, Parts not covered, shipping not covered, no insurance on return box.
Would be nice if a series of dits would cause it to Tune
 
WA0HHX Rating: 5/5 May 17, 2016 10:49 Send this review to a friend
Excellent results  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Gave up on the Alpha 4040. After reading about this tuner and then the almost universally good reviews I purchased it direct from PalStar. I have had it in line for a couple of months. I endorse all the other 5/5 reviews that you read here. It was very easy to set up and provides a very quick and accurate match. I use it with a 5 band 4 element quad. Produces quick matches and almost instant tuning. The watts and frequency readout are quite close (but do not always 100% match the readings on my watt meters and/or vfo readout on my TS-990). Even so they are within 50-100 watts on the kw+ high end and a few kc on frequency. But that's not what I bought it for. Difficult to imagine that you could find a better auto tuner at the price (or any price!). I wonder if maybe Alpha figured that out as well and I have several alpha amps and the new alpha wattmeter. All great products. No disgrace in being beaten to the punch on the tuner and recognizing it. Highly recommended.
 
WA5WA Rating: 5/5 May 7, 2016 17:31 Send this review to a friend
The Best Auto Ant. Tuner  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I just bought the 2nd Palstar HF-tuner for my Kenwood radio, it Fast (less than 4 seconds to tune for the most bands), nice design and has a watt meter. Highly recommend to have this Auto tuner.
 
K0WA Rating: 5/5 Apr 30, 2016 09:33 Send this review to a friend
Very Impressed  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had the unit for less than a week, but I have been operating quite a bit. I am very impressed with the unit. Fits well into the shack and works very well. Was able to match all my antennas including my so-called Inverted-L which is more of a sagging Inverted-L. The unit is very quiet and I was expecting more "tuning" noise from the stepper motors. Setup easy. Right out of the box with no changes and it started to work like advertised. I am replacing a AT2K tuner which replaced a CV1500. I have had Palstar tuners for a long time. The unit is not cheap, but it does what is advertised and so far it seems to do it well. It is a big box and more long that it is wide. It is easy to learn and has all the features one would want in a tuner. The HF-Auto does require a 12 volts supply that can handle about 5 amps when tuning. I have used the tuner with my AL-82 at 1200 watts output and had no issues at all. Tuning time is acceptable, a lot faster than what I could do manually. I purchase the unit direct from Palstar after calling them with a question. They discounted the price to me and I then made the purchase. Shipping was quick. Very good service, So, far it is a keeper. I will check back later after using it for several months.
 
G3OZN Rating: 5/5 Apr 15, 2016 08:00 Send this review to a friend
JUST THE BEST!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just upgraded from the 1500CV and WOW what an addition to the station, can not fault the unit in any way, it does EXACTLY as their blurb says. I tunes my 211ft LW on 160 80 & 40 and " cleans" up the Steppir 32ft vertical and 3 ele Yagi at 60ft. One observation (not a criticism!) the handbook does not seem to sufficiently describe the memory storage and recall, might be me! I have tried the Yahoo site on this unit but ahem "certain ladies adverts " come up and far to long in the tooth to be of any use to me!If anyone cares to send me a "dummies" guide or direct to a suitable write up I would appreciate it.
 
NY1H Rating: 5/5 Feb 27, 2016 06:58 Send this review to a friend
Best Tuner I ever had  Time owned: more than 12 months
After speaking to Dave N2IRO I thought it was time to go with this legal limit Auto tuner with remote. I have it mounted in a NEMA 4 cabinet outside under my deck at the base of my tower. It has worked in temps ranging from -20 to 100+ degrees F with no issues. It has tuned several different dipoles of my own design and a few commercial dipoles at legal limit without any issues. I honestly believe it will tune a wet string. Like all Palstar tuners it is built like a tank. I have owned a TenTec 238b, Drake,MFJ 998c [POS] and many others, and nothing comes close to this battle ship. Great Job PALSTAR
 
KB3SI Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2016 19:37 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
When I decided to move up to an auto tuner from my TenTec 238B, I went with the HF Auto. All of the reviews on eHam that I read turned out to be accurate. This tuner finds the correct match and does so very quickly. Very well built. I am very happy with the HF Auto.
 
<— Page 2 of 7 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.