eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/Pod-WebCasts on ham radio | PODCAST - Ham Nation Help


Reviews Summary for PODCAST - Ham Nation
Reviews: 8 Average rating: 3.0/5 MSRP: $Service
Description: 'HAM Nation' is the new 'TWIT' show about ham radio. Featuring (Host) Bob Heil-K9EID, (Interviewer Reporter) Gordon West-WB6NOA, and (Smoke & Solder) George Thomas-W5JDX with various co-hosts and guests will cover the excitement and importance of ham radio. 'HAM Nation' airs live each Tuesday at 6:00 PT/ 9:00ET on http://live.twit.tv.
Product is not in production.
More info: http://twit.tv/hn
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the PODCAST - Ham Nation.

KB8ASO Rating: 2/5 Oct 12, 2014 14:59 Send this review to a friend
Gone to the sponsors like TV in the 50's  Time owned: more than 12 months
The show had great promise, but now is becoming a sponsor only entity rather than an all encompassing ham radio show. You almost never never see a Kenwood, Yaesu, TEN-TEC, Elecraft, Flex Radio or other rigs discussed or mentioned except in the most fleeting way if at all. Don't get me wrong I own and like several products by Icom, Heil, DX Engineering, and even some MFJ, but come on. There is more out there than old tube boatanchors and equipment made by the major sponsors. More diversity please!!

Randy AB9GO
 
CQCQDX Rating: 0/5 Oct 11, 2014 19:32 Send this review to a friend
Not what it used to be!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I feel sad issuing this review...

The podcast set out to look to be a valuable resource.
As time went on and with the addition of some "new" hosts and subtraction of some others sadly the show became something it wasnt at the begining.

Now Icom, and DX enginering is referenced more than actual valuable show content.

Nothing personal but the young lady who represents the "DX" portion of the show...well she sadly has taken the show in another direction, myself and others have lost our initial interest, ofcourse if you can get by that then there is the guy who talks fast and does the commercials...If you can get through it all you sometimes can come away with something for your time, but truthfully after listening from the beginning of the podcasts history some of us fellows have not kept up with it anymore as it has changed and overall not for the best.

Too bad the show had lots of potental...But is headed in the wrong direction.

As I said at the start....sad.
 
WO8USA Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2014 16:25 Send this review to a friend
Give this a try--Ham Radio Variety TV Show!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I stumbled onto this from a postcard at Hamvention 2014....its like a ham-radio focused variety show with news, kit building, DXing, and other features. It reminds me of a radio net on 40/80m except on Internet TV. Twit TV also has other tech shows of interest.

Give this a chance and watch it, or search the variety of shows for a topic you are interested in, its better than many shows on regular TV these days....could you image the future QST (once the new all-digital format comes to be) including a Ham Radio TV show like this? It could also feature the ARRL equipment reviews....coupled together you have a few hours if radio entertainment to pipe to the bigscreen to watch. I could see watching QST in this format with hands-on "Hints and Kinks" and Propagation forecasts.

They take your questions/comments real time---give it a try. Keep an open mind of what this could become.
 
AB4D Rating: 4/5 Jan 14, 2014 07:40 Send this review to a friend
Very informative   Time owned: more than 12 months
I've watched several of the pod casts and found them to be informative and well produced. Bob Heil, Gordon West, and the others on the show keep things light hearted and moving along. I also like that any episode can be viewed on demand.

Ham Nation looks like a real show, rather than some of the poorly produced stuff available on you tube. The fact that they cover a wide range of interesting topics keeps me focused on the show.


73
 
W7WQ Rating: 0/5 Jan 14, 2014 05:26 Send this review to a friend
Wow  Time owned: more than 12 months
I tried to watch this once, I really did. It just made me CRINGE. The old queen host was just plain hard to watch. It's this kind of thing that makes it almost embarrassing to admit that I'm a ham. The best one out there is on Youtube by a guy with a K1 call I think it is. It's called the truth about ham radio. THAT pretty much sums it up.
 
NA6Z Rating: 3/5 Nov 25, 2013 13:23 Send this review to a friend
ICOM Radio Hour  Time owned: more than 12 months
In general, I agree with the other two reviewers. It was a great program. These days it's become one big commercial for ICOM products. And exactly what does "Stamps.com" have to do with ham radio? For QSL cards? Maybe.
 
K7GDE Rating: 5/5 Jul 1, 2013 11:21 Send this review to a friend
Lots of fun  Time owned: more than 12 months
This show is still in production...

This is a podcast hosted by Bob Heil (K9EID), Gordon West (WB6NOA), George Thomas (W5JDX), Don Wilbanks (AE5DW)
Bob is a great host and really fills the episodes with joy of ham radio. Everybody knows Gordon West who writes the books that many of us used to study for our ham exams. George Thomas does the "Smoke and Solder" segment where he builds projects and teaches some electronics theory. Don Wilbanks is from Amateur Radio Newsline and give a weekly newline segment. The shows are done live each wednesday at 6pm PST with IRC Chat room being part of it. They are available on iTunes and to watch on the website a couple of days later. They just produced their 100th show a few weeks ago with guest appearances of Joe Walsh (WB6ACU) who also wrote the theme for the show, and Larry Junstrom (K4EB) of 38 Special fame. There is an after show net at 7pm PST each Wednesday on 20m, 40m, 80m, 160m, D-Star, and EchoLink.
 
KR7KZ Rating: 5/5 Jan 19, 2012 13:01 Send this review to a friend
Great Ham radio show!  Time owned: months
I think this show will really be going places. It's the best! Keep up the good work guys!
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.