eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Elecraft KX3 Help


Reviews Summary for Elecraft KX3
Elecraft KX3 Reviews: 154 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $ See Desciption
Description: Elecraft KX3 Transceiver

Ultra-portable, all-band/all-mode high-performance transceiver for home, mobile, or field use.
* 160-6 meters (2 m with KX3-2M module)
* SSB/CW/DATA/AM/FM modes; 10 W+ PEP (100 W with KXPA100 amp)
* 1.7" x 3.5" x 7.4" (4.3 x 8.9 x 18.8 cm); only 1.5 pounds (0.7 kg)
* Current drain as low as 150 mA; internal battery (8 AA cells, any type)
* Advanced DSP provides dual watch, noise reduction, noise blanking, autonotch, stereo audio effects, audio peaking filter (APF)
* Software-defined radio (SDR) architecture plus optional roofing filters
* Operates in data modes (PSK31/RTTY) with or without a PC
* Includes RX I/Q sound-card outputs; works with PC RS232 or USB ports; free firmware upgrades
* Options: internal wide-range antenna tuner (KXAT3), interal NiMH battery charger (KXBC3), dual roofing filter module (KXFL3), attached high-performance keyer paddle (KXPD3), internal 2-meter module (KX3-2M), MH3 compact hand mic with UP/DN buttons, KXPA100/KXAT100 100-W amplifier and ATU

$999.95 factory assembled, $899.95 kit

Product is in production.
More info: http://www.elecraft.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Elecraft KX3.

Page 1 of 16 —>

K9OBX Rating: 5/5 Jun 22, 2017 10:19 Send this review to a friend
First Kit Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am, by all rights, a newbie ham. I was first licensed in 2012 and have since, been surrounded by elmers. Through the various elmers, I've learned to build different antennas, learned and operate CW, and a multitude of other things, too many to list. This was my first kit radio. I was told by my elmers that it is what's known as a modular kit, meaning no soldering. The kit was easy, yet time consuming (3 hours) due to the small washers and bolts. It went together very well, and very tightly. I have no doubt that it will hold up to normal use.

Once the kit was built I turned it on and WHAM everything worked!!!! I tested various things and then proceeded straight to 160 meters SSB, where i made contacts on the first try with only 10 watts. They couldn't believe I was only running 10 watts. I then proceeded to 80 meters and made another SSB contact there and then on to 40 meters CW. This is where this rig really shines. I ordered the optional ATU AND Roofing Filter. Man does it pay off on CW!!!! I've made several contacts after 3 days and even got W1AW using only 5 watts CW on 30 meters. The receive is second to none on this little rig when it comes to CW. The ATU works better than my LDG tuner for my Yaesu FT450. I have put away the Yaesu as a backup rig to my KX3. That's how good it really is.

It is somewhat expensive but it is worth every penny. The old adage of "you get what you pay for" certainly holds true with this rig.

I use an external battery and a battery maintainer at my QTH and a external battery and solar panel on the go. I really don't think I'd use the AA internal battery setup. IMHO.
 
N2DTS Rating: 5/5 Jun 2, 2017 19:40 Send this review to a friend
Quite good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have been going through various radios, the KX2, the Anan 10E, the Elad fdm duo, the KX3.
I am a basic operator, I do not use many of the features of most radios, but am more interested in fidelity (noise, distortion) and ease of use.
The KX3 rates very high, its easy to learn and easy to use after a bit.
It sounds quite good, both on RX and TX, it could be better with a wider frequency response, but its fine as it is.
Unlike a real direct sampling sdr, the filters are in the audio, so they act a bit different then the
typical filter setup in other radios.

It sure would be hard to pick between the KX2 and the KX3. The 3 has 6 meters (and 160), and another 5 watts out. Its also got a lot more buttons and knobs, band up and down which is handy, RF gain, although the KX2 was surprisingly easy to use and jump from band to band using the memories. The KX2 setup is very slick, even better then the KX3 it seems to me.
The speaker in the KX3 seems ok with me, I do not expect hifi or room filling loudness, although it does seem to go quite loud.
I have made long full power transmissions on AM and the radio did not seem to get hot.
Audio reports were all very good with the hand mic and some minor adjustments with the built in EQ.

You have to like the Elecraft limited knob and button system, but its great for portable use.
Like everything Elecraft makes, it seems quite amazing in features/size/performance departments.
I guess you would have to be a very advanced user to want more features.
The only way I could see to make it better is to somehow make it a direct sampling setup.
That likely can not be done in the size and low current drain that the KX radios can do.
Maybe the KX4 will do it though...

Like all Elecraft radios, it seems wonderful on CW to me.

The battery setup is what it is, the AA batteries allow some use, on rx for a long time, and limited tx at lower powers.
For any serious use I would want a higher capacity higher voltage battery anyway.

Like all the Elecraft tuners, the antenna tuner in the KX3 is fast and wide range.

Yes, it could be water proof, and have a 50 amp hour battery built in, and be smaller, and lighter, and cost a lot less, and I think that is all crazy talk.


 
K6SDW Rating: 5/5 May 28, 2017 21:03 Send this review to a friend
Simply amazed  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'd give the KX3 a 10 if I could. The receiver is simply amazing, it runs circles around my ICOM 746Pro which is no slouch.

Operating the rig requires an investment in your time to learn what all the buttons and sub menus do and don't do. Take your time, breathe deep and open the manual. If you're not willing to do that, as a ham friend who hates modern rigs, then look elsewhere.

At 15 watts the Tx is what it is. Great, but 15 watts on SSB doesn't go far.

For CW and digital I hang with the big guns.

Definitely, IMO, the KX3 makes great base station with a 100 watt amp for you voice ops. Elecraft is one of the best engineering companies and yes you pay for this technology and engineering perfection.

gud luk and 73

sdw
 
WT8BZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 17, 2017 05:05 Send this review to a friend
My favorite again  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased the KX3 for its small size and portability. I was surprised at what a great piece of engineering this is in such a small package. The KX3 was my favorite transceiver for the first six months that I owned it, but I don't always want to operate QRP and I wanted a broader digital capability.

I purchased the full K3s line about a year ago for my home station and was not disappointed. However, I still wanted to use my KX3 portable and for travel so I purchased the KXPA-100 amplifier. The resulting bird's nest of wires and connectors was not pretty and after adding a SignaLink USB and laptop, portability was a distant memory. I know, it's my fault for wanting so much out of this small package, but it is more than capable so why limit yourself?

My solution was a custom built travel case that I can carry on a commercial airline that requires only connecting an antenna to get on the air. The total package including the 30 amp hour LiFePO4 battery weighs in at 53lbs, so it's not a backpack item, but it is water proof and easy to transport. If you have similar issues with the KX3, I've posted a YouTube video on what I ended up building:

https://youtu.be/EPP4Spcojo4

The KX3 now my favorite transceiver again and it's something I can easily take to field day, on travel or vacations. Great piece of engineering on Elecraft's part.

73
 
N7TB Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2017 23:37 Send this review to a friend
The Most Versatile Rig I've Ever Owned  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had my KX3 for 15 months. Overall it's the best HF rig I have ever owned. It works great on SSB and is an exceptional CW rig. There have been many reviews touting the technical excellence of the rig. I won't add to those.

Versatility is what makes the KX3 unmatched. I also have the PX3 Panadapter and KXPA100 Amp. both work seamlessly with the KX3 and makes it a great base station. I sometimes take the KX3 and PX3 for a lightweight combination running 15 watts on external LiFePo4 battery.

By itself, it is an amazing rig. I just returned from New Zealand where I took the KX3, an external 3Ah battery to allow for full 15 watts output, and a 58 ft. random length of wire and counterpoise attached to a BNC binding post and was able to work 80 - 20 meter contacts. I use the KDPX2 paddle which was actually designed for the KX2 but works wonderfully with the KX3.

I carry the KX3 in a Thinktank Photo Strobe case. All this easily fits in my small backpack.

Now that the KX2 is on the market, I looked seriously at buying it for portable use and using the KX3 for my base station. I finally decided that I could not give up the added features of the KX3.

The KX2 is a remarkable rig for it's size, but the KX3 is not that much bigger and easier to use ergonomically with features that the KX2 doesn't have.

For SOTA or backpacking the less than a pound added weight and slightly larger size is not an issue for most people. Carrying an extra 11 oz. will not make a difference. However the KX3 doesn't have the "cute factor" of the KX2.

From home station, to RV, to air travel to distant places, to picnic table portable to backpack carry, it's an amazingly capable rig.

It is very close in performance to Elecraft's flagship rig, the K3S yet so small.

Another benefit that is seldom mentioned is that Elecraft technical support is incredible and the email user's group is very helpful as well. Add to that is Elecraft continuing to add features to the rig through firmware updates at no cost. When I got the KX3, 10 watts was the maximum power output. it is now 15 watts, a 50 percent increase in power at no cost.

Given the purchase decision again, I would buy the KX3 with no reservations.
 
WC1I Rating: 5/5 Oct 26, 2016 10:30 Send this review to a friend
Almost Perfect  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I finally settled on the KX3 after all the usual angst and comparisons, from QRP alternatives like the FT817, to various mobile HF units and luggable portables.

For me, the KX3 was an easy ergonomic choice, and my use of the radio validates that for my usage. It's complex, but easy to operate, with the physical controls handling most operating functions and the menu more focused on set-it-and-forget-it items. That calculus may differ for you.

My tradeoffs were against my concerns with build robustness, particularly with the left-side connectors. I also share concerns about the internal battery set-up. So I'm quite careful.

Cost, of course, weighed heavily also. It's expensive equipped with ATU, charger, and filters! ... see paragraph 1.

I have minor gripes, such as not being able to further lower LED brightness than currently allowed. It's blinding even on the lowest setting when in a darkened environment, whether the backlight is on or not. The VFO B display doesn't show the least significant digit (it tunes it, naturally). There is a small handful of menu SUB settings that are completely non-intuitive. The data functionality could use some improvement. And I share the minor irritation at the buttons not always doing their thing unless firmly pushed. On this last, I hesitated before turning off the button clicks, but since that drives me crazier than the occasional miss ...

Wonderfully compact, and fits nicely with assorted cables and mic into a Pelican 1200 case.

I'm happy with my decision and would buy it again. I might give a 4.5 rating if possible due to some of the minutiae, but this is a seriously capable radio that deserves the 5 for sheer capability in a small package.
 
W9AC Rating: 5/5 Oct 1, 2016 06:35 Send this review to a friend
Solid 5  Time owned: more than 12 months
One of the best designed products in amateur radio. It deserves an award for innovation. Several years of operation at home and in the field, and it always delivers.
 
KA1IS Rating: 4/5 Sep 29, 2016 20:26 Send this review to a friend
Good QRP radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have several Elecraft radios. The KX3 has more features than any QRP radio. But could be better.

Here are suggestions for a KX4

A dedicated RF gain dial (like the KX1 and K2) - especially with such a hot receiver that is easily overloaded.

Buttons that respond consistently. Its easy to press a button and have it do nothing. The K1 and K2 are better quality in this respect.

Better selection and layout of controls. The choice of button functions seems unusual. Too many functions on the same buttons - that could be just added to the menu instead - to make room for controls that are actually used.

More stable (wider?) cabinet. The design, although amazingly small, is unstable for its weight.



 
G4AON Rating: 3/5 Sep 29, 2016 01:24 Send this review to a friend
No issues with mine, but could be better  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've used my K2 on overseas holidays for many years. The K2 is larger than I liked and always fancied replacing it with a KX3. This year a friend was looking to sell his KX3, replacing it with a KX2 for better "SOTA" capability. I made an offer and now have a 5xxx serial KX3.

My "new to me" KX3 came with the optional audio roofing filter, I've since added the ATU board and a 3rd party "Windcamp" heatsink.

Plus points:
Excellent frequency stability, especially after running the extended temperature calibration.

Very smooth audio and no signal reduction at 200 ~ 250 Hz bandwidth.

Virtually silent operation, with only the odd relay click (handy when the OH is asleep nearby).

Very straightforward to operate and a CW OPs delight.

The I/Q output works well with the free NaP3 software to give a nice panoramic display on a PC.

Excellent SSB TX audio, the speech processing works well.

Minus points:
The connectors on the left hand side plate are flimsy, perhaps no worse than many other radios, but but still not good.

The receiver is direct conversion with clever audio phasing to minimise the image, this is not totally effective, especially on CW. Even after careful alignment, the in band image is only 40 to 50 dB down, an S9 +20 dB CW signal will appear 1.5 KHz (with 750 HZ sidetone) away at S5! The specification is better than the above figure, but only applies to the very narrow alignment tone, dropping to around 45 dB a few HZ off.

The internal battery facility is a joke. Even with good 2500mAh NiMh cells, after a couple of hours you will find transmitting at 3 Watts starts to give low battery warnings. The spring battery holder isn't capable of supplying more than a few mA, not 2 to 3 Amps. In addition, if you want to remove the batteries for charging, you risk breaking the weak ribbon cable every time you open the case.

The internal speaker is awful, it resonates and buzzes on CW, it's not too bad on SSB. Many mobile phones have superb tiny speakers, so why not put one in the KX3?

In order to use "dual watch" to monitor 2 freqs on the same band, you have to use earphones. It would be nice to be able to monitor on the speaker.

Overall, it's much better than a K2, but could be far better.
 
KE7KUS Rating: 0/5 Sep 24, 2016 10:17 Send this review to a friend
Very Overpriced Poorly Designed QRP Rig  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I purchased an Elecraft KX3 last year, and it was the biggest purchasing mistake of my amateur radio life. I was duped by the Elecraft hype and it cost me $1700 of my hard-earned money. Potential buyers looking for a serous portable/QRP radio should avoid Elecraft products. Instead I recommend starting with a Yaesu FT-817 and adding W4RT filters and an IF tap via the G4HUP PAT kit if you want panadapter functionality. Even after all those mods, you'll still end up spending FAR less than you would on a fully equipped KX3, have a FAR more durable radio, and have the benefit of 70cm band to boot.

BACKGROUND:
In October 2015 I ordered a KX-3 kit from Elecraft, as well as the roofing filter, battery charger, internal tuner, and CW paddles. Upon assembling the kit, I found the right pot on the radio mainboard was inoperative, requiring a complete board replacement. The following month I added a 2m transverter to the radio. Upon installing the 2m transverter, I found that I was unable to transmit for more than 2-3 minutes at 2W without the transceiver shutting down due to overheating. Finally, in August 2016 (10 months after my initial purchase) I sat down to operate the radio one morning, and discovered it would not power on. Upon opening the case, I discovered the 8 internal AA batteries in the internal battery holder had exploded all over the radio. I sent the remains of the radio to Elecraft, where I was told the radio was a complete loss.

RADIO DESIGN:
The KX-3 is a poorly designed radio from a durability & reliability standpoint. While Elecraft touts it as a superlative radio for portable & emergency operations, it is anything but. The radio internals consist of a number of stacked circuit boards with no shock/isolation mounting. The roofing filter stacks vertically on one side of the radio, but is only held in place by a single pass-through screw which supposedly keeps it in place. Even with the screw in place, the roofing filter board has a moderate amount of play when touched. The internal battery charger and internal battery pack are likely the worst design I've ever seen in an electronic component. The power wires for the battery charger are routed between two very tight spaces inside the radio, where the wires can easily become pinched and short against adjacent components. Furthermore, rather than sit at the bottom of the radio where a leak would have the least impact, the internal battery pack sits on top the internal component boards of the radio with no underlying protection, so any internal battery malfunction causes irreparable damage to the two main component boards below the battery pack. Apparently, Elecraft has also had significant problems with the battery pack mounting screws inside the radio either not being seated properly, or backing out under portable use, causing batteries to short out. There were quite a few warnings/cautions/notes about this in the kit assembly guide.

ELECRAFT - THE WARRANTY FINE PRINT:
While I was certainly disappointed that my KX3 failed 10 months into its service life, I assumed a company with Elecraft's reputation would stand behind their product and replace the radio under the 1-year warranty it came with. I certainly assumed wrongly. Upon sending back my $1700 KX-3, Elecraft informed me the radio was a complete loss, but they extended the "generous" offer of allowing me to purchase a replacement KX-3 for "only" $975. The initial technician report from Elecraft failed to identify the cause of the failure, and when I inquired about the warranty coverage the "Customer Support" tech proceeded to proliferously quote the "fine print" from various Elecraft documents about how Elecraft wasn't responsible for damage caused by "non-Elecraft accessory equipment" (the batteries in this case). He also quoted fine print which said Elecraft wouldn't replace the radio if the damage was caused by alkaline battery leakage (my batteries were NiMH). Finally, he said, and I quote: "It was our conclusion that a battery failure caused the destruction of the internal boards in your radio. How this happened is undetermined, but it could have been related to the battery holder assembly and a shorted battery cell." To paraphrase: "Battery failure caused the destruction of your KX3. We couldn't determine how this happened, so we are assuming it was your fault." Despite the fact that I followed the kit assembly instructions to the finest detail (especially because of all the warnings about battery shorts in the assembly instructions), used the recommended NiMH batteries, and the radio operated normally for 10 months after I assembled the kit and used it only as a desktop base-station radio, Elecraft "Customer Support" refused to honor the 1-year warranty on the radio. During my warranty discussions, Elecraft management convened and apparently collectively decided they would revise their initial radio replacement offer from $975 down to "only $675, provided I accepted the offer within 5 days of receipt." Having already been duped out of $1700 by the company, I declined the offer.

Bottom line - my experience purchasing and losing an Elecraft KX3 after only 10 months in service left me with the profound impression that the company only cares about getting your dollars. If you want top quality performance right up to the point you're left holding the bag because of Elecraft design/manufacturing shortcomings, this radio is definitely the radio for you. As for me, Elecraft will never see another dime of my money - I much prefer a company that stands behind their products.
 
Page 1 of 16 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.