eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Kenwood TH-K20A Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood TH-K20A
Kenwood TH-K20A Reviews: 12 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $140.00
Description: The Kenwood TH-K20A is a rugged 2 meter HT with up to 5.5
watts of power and straight-forward operation. You get 200
memories and multiple scan modes are supported. CTCSS/DCS is
included. The TH-K20A comes with KNB-63L Li-ion 1130 mAh,
KSC-35S drop in charger, SMA flexible antenna, belt clip and
three Owner's Manuals.
Features:
5.5/2.5/1 Watts RF Output, Backlit LCD, Weather Alert,
Keypad Entry, Easy Operation, Internal VOX, 200 Memories,
CTCSS/DCS, Narrow Band FM Ready.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.kenwoodusa.com/Communications/Amateur_Radio/Portables/TH-K20A
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood TH-K20A.

Page 1 of 2 —>

F5TIL Rating: 5/5 Mar 12, 2016 12:53 Send this review to a friend
Very good compact radio.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have TH-K20E version and i'm very happy.Compact,nice audio,easy to use.This 144 Mhz FM radio is perfect.
 
N1OFJ Rating: 5/5 Dec 11, 2015 12:49 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Excellent audio. easy to use. Outstanding selectivity and sensitivity. The supplied antenna is more than suitable. I would buy another if I needed to do so.
 
N4XTS Rating: 5/5 Mar 2, 2015 21:29 Send this review to a friend
Thumbs up Kenwood!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
For a no frills but full feature 2 m HT with PERFORMANCE this is the ticket. Typical Kenwood LMR quality.

Where it really shines is the RX audio, LOUD and CLEAR. The display is easy to read. Keypad is spaced well, and like others have said, you don't even need to read the manual especially if you've used Kenwood rigs of the last 20-25 years.

Kenwood also gives away the programming software for FREE and uses the same Kenwood/Baofeng/Wouxun cables available for $15.

They actually include a decent lithium ion battery and drop in rapid charger in the kit. I like the nice spring belt clip, and the HT is sized just perfect, not a brick but not so tiny you can't use it.

Scan speed is FAST! And one of the first "big three" ham HT's that do split tone (different CTCSS/DCS on TX and RX).

The HT is built to last. Sure, you can buy a cheap "wallkie talkie on chip" China HT for less, but you won't get the PERFORMANCE, QUALITY, EASE OF USE and WELL WRITTEN MANUAL from those guys.

You get what you pay for. You can't get steak and ale for a pizza and beer price, this HT is the Ruth's Chris of ham HT's at a Longhorn price point.

 
AI6IG Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2015 11:16 Send this review to a friend
Nice Little HT  Time owned: more than 12 months
Nice HT, easy to set up and program without constantly having to refer to the manual. Now that battery eliminators are available through ebay and extra batts at different sizes are available at reasonable prices, this is a near perfect, light, and very capable 2 meter HT for day-to-day use.
 
W8MPX Rating: 5/5 Jan 11, 2015 13:45 Send this review to a friend
best reception 2 meter  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This radio have the best ears with the original antenna don't worry buying another antenna you will wasting your money I have a kenwood D72 and bought a diamond antenna 50 dollars the TH-K20A will beat the d72 on reception with the factory antenna. The radio is plug and play, the audio is loud , if you only want a simple 2 meter with good ears and good audio this is the one my 2 cents 73'
 
VE2LAM Rating: 5/5 Oct 19, 2013 18:17 Send this review to a friend
Basic but user friendly like none other!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had other Kenwood portables like the TH-F6A, TH-26, TH-28, TH-22, TH-K2AT, TH-D72A, and this TH-K20A stands very well against any of its predecessors. It stands very well against its actual competitors also (and one of its recent brother, the 72A). What I like about this radio?
Lithium-ion battery, cradle charger, charges in 3 hours, excellent tonal quality of received audio, plenty of volume, =>analog<= volume (no "notches" that gives volume staircase-style increments), no more "thump" in earphone when signal drops, very efficient antenna --no need to replace it with an after-market one--, the screen is in center and a bit recessed so less prone to scratches, keys a bit bigger than on the K2AT, nice back-lighting, lightweight, and it is slimmer and narrower than what Internet pictures shows.
it has a *very* direct-friendly-intuitive functions and programming interface. In fact I've not encountered this level of ease of use on *any* of the 70+ portables I had these past 25 years. Like said in another review here, most used functions have been brought up closer to the user, up front on the keypad rather than recessed in sub-sub-menus. Configuring repeater tones or CTCSS is a breeze, or even Tone search, out of other functions!
This is definitely a "grab-and-go" radio, and you can even leave the user manual behind you, being confident that even without touching the radio for 6 months you'll be able to program whatever you want in it, the user interface is a real winner.
Downsides are: no on-screen battery voltage / level, no memory banks / groups, plastic belt clip that is cheaper than the metal ones we had on the TH-22 / K2AT (and TH-D72A), a bit short battery life and, what else? ?.. i can't find other things! And remember, this is a ~150$ radio!
Kenwood: you've done a *very* nice job!
 
K4JFR Rating: 5/5 Aug 20, 2012 12:28 Send this review to a friend
Good simple 2m radio that works.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Don't expect to be amazed by its features. It is a simple to use 2m radio. Easy to program (free download from Kenwood), charges the Li-ion battery quickly and just works. Feels solid in my hand but compact and light. Audio is loud enough and the display is easy to read.

I have used many different HTs through the years, both LMR and amateur. I own a VX8R, Wouxun, Kenwood, etc. This is a fine radio, especially for the price.
 
N0GPS Rating: 4/5 Jul 11, 2012 17:32 Send this review to a friend
Almost There  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I wanted to get a handheld radio that was easy to use and had the latest battery technology. The Kenwood TH-K20A hit the mark it is just plain sexy compared to the other brands.... But ( a BIG BUT )
there is no provision to power the radio from a cigarette plug or other source from a vehicle. The other brands do have a provision for a external power source. This put on the brakes and put out the fire for me in my purchasing decision. I need a radio that I can run APRS from my vehicle all the time and be able to take it with me when I need it. BUT if they ever come out with a accessory that lets me use a external power source I will buy the radio for sure... I would buy two if they made a 440 version.
 
VE7RJZ Rating: 5/5 Jun 27, 2012 16:49 Send this review to a friend
My new favorite radio!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hello,
If you had read my previous post on this radio, you would have noticed that I don't like radios that use Time-Operated (TO) resume on scan.
GOOD NEWS!!!
I received an email from Kenwood today with a new version of the firmware for the TH-K20A that updates it from version 1.00 to version 1.18. Kudos to the people at Kenwood getting this fixed, apparently they read the reviews on eHam.net too! The new version of firmware has resolved my issue with the scan resume on this radio and I am happy to report that I now give this radio a rating of 5 or maybe even 5+.
Thanks to eHam.net for providing this venue to review and rate products and thanks to Kenwood for providing excellent support for the products they manufacture!
 
WB2NWR Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2012 06:25 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Finally, back to basics. Simple but capable. Nice not to need a "Nifty" manual.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.