eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Degen DE312 portable AM/FM/SW 10-band receiver Help


Reviews Summary for Degen DE312 portable AM/FM/SW 10-band receiver
Degen DE312 portable AM/FM/SW 10-band receiver Reviews: 2 Average rating: 3.5/5 MSRP: $15
Description: DEGEN DE312 is highly improved on the sensitivity, selectivity and also the ability of anti-interference of receiving programs. With the compact size and light weight, it is convenient to carry out when taking for a walk or traveling. This radio can offer you much better listening experience. The neat and clean design just makes everyone love it.

Frequency coverage

FM 70-108 MHz
MW/AM 530-1610 kHz
SW: 5.90-6.20, 7.10-7.35, 9.40-9.90, 11.60-12.10, 13.55-13.8515.10-15.80, 17.45-17.90, 21.45-21.85 kHz
Low Noise, High Sensitivity and Selectivity.

Earphone jack.
Power supply: 2 x AA batteries or DC 5V power adapter.
Noise limit sensitivity : FM >10μV, MW > 1.0mV/m, SW >30μV
English painting for all function knobs.
Dimensions: 125*76*30mm.
Net Weight:150g (without battery).
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Degen DE312 portable AM/FM/SW 10-band receiver.

VK5GI Rating: 3/5 Jul 7, 2013 04:11 Send this review to a friend
It's OK  Time owned: more than 12 months
As kwdavid has said, this is a fifteen buck radio - including postage! What it is NOT for is serious radio listening, you get what you pay for. Tis wee radio is for slipping into your coat pocket and listening to the local FM or AM radio. As a bonus, I was delighted to hear lots of Chinese stations, Radio Australia and BBC, but not well. It's a fifteen buck radio......
 
KWDAVIDS Rating: 4/5 Mar 18, 2012 10:15 Send this review to a friend
Best radio at $15  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Despite this being a Chinese radio that you can get for $15 including shipping from Hong Kong, it's really rather nice.

The controls are solid, the case fit is good and performance is better than you would expect.

I did a side-by-side comparison with the Kaito WRX911 and really couldn't tell any difference between them. I listened to Radio Reloj (570 AM) from Cuba with equal results.

FM extends down to 70 MHz, and like some other radios, I received images of regular FM stations down there. However, the FM itself seemed to work well and pull in plenty of stations.

Shortwave off the whip antenna was pretty hot in the evening. The only issue I had was some whistles on a few frequencies in the lower SW bands (just like the Kaito).

The radio has simple controls: off/on switch, tuning knob, volume knob, band switch. There is a wrist carrying strap The tuning dial I found sharp and easy to read. There is an LED signal strength indicator that was pretty much on solid for FM, but worked well for shortwave. The "manual" is in Chinese, but I have no idea why anyone would need a manual. It runs of 2 AA batteries or an external 5V supply.

If you want a radio to throw in the backpack for camping, or to put in a emergency bag, this one does a good job for not much money.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.