eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Motorola XPR 6550 Help


Reviews Summary for Motorola XPR 6550
Motorola XPR 6550 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $1085.00
Description: XPR 6550 DMR MOTOTRBO VHF / UHF HT
DMR / Analog version LCD Display
160 channel mixed mode capable. Integrated data and voice. Text messaging. GPS. Signalling Enhanced Call Management. Encode/Decode: call alert emergency, remote monitor, push-to-talk ID, radio check, all call, radio disable. Dual priority scanning.
Channel spacing 6.25, 12.5. Talk around and programmable buttons. CPS (Customer Programming Software not included)
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.motorola.com/web/Business/Products/Two-way%20Radios/Portable%20Radios/Wide%20Area%20Large%20Business%20Portable%20Radios/XPR%206500/_Documents/Static%20Files/MOTOTRBO_Portable_Spec_Sheet.pdf
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Motorola XPR 6550.

HA7WX Rating: 5/5 Sep 27, 2016 13:56 Send this review to a friend
Commercial  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Lots have been said here.
I would add that on those equipped with a GPS module, it cannot be switched off on the rig itself but via its software. Not a design fault as this model is not intended for the amateur market.
A fun to use, reliable and high quality equipment, i don't regret it, and would buy one again.
I highly recommend it, just be aware sofware and programming cables need to be purchased separately, so it is more expensive than any chinese device.
 
KD0DUJ Rating: 5/5 Jan 9, 2014 23:33 Send this review to a friend
good all around radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have 2 XPR 6550s and they are excellent radios and the digital audio is clear and works very in analog as well and I like that it will cover the ham bands 2 meter VHF and 70cm ham bands the one thing is that for 70cm the band split needs to be 403-470mhz
 
NH7CY Rating: 5/5 Oct 25, 2013 15:46 Send this review to a friend
Get yourself on DMR  Time owned: more than 12 months
A number of years back when these first came out, a fellow Ham introduced me to the 6550. We decided to do a little analog vs. conventional test and tested the radios in simplex from various points in San Francisco. The difference between analog and DMR was night and day. In places analog was barely readable, DMR was loud and clear. This sold me on the XPR series and I purchased a pair of my own radios a few months later.

These are great radios for anyone looking to get into DMR (and nationwide systems such as DMR-MARC). There are newer better radios out there (such as the XPR 7xxx series) but this will do just as well, and can be had for a few hundred cheaper.

While these radios will still set you back farther than many purpose built Ham radios, you get the great commercial quality public safety professionals and the like have grown to expect from Motorola. That is - this radio will go anywhere you do and take a beating.

My only gripe about the XPR 6xxx series is mainly aesthetics. They're definitely a little goofy looking (Motorola fixed this problem with the 7xxx series), but they get the job done.

It is possible to modify these radios for FPP with special firmware if you so desire. Otherwise you will need either a Motorola dealer, or your own copy of CPS to program them (currently, only obtainable through Motorola)which can be costly or difficult if you aren't accustomed to the foibles of owning commercial equipment.

Battery life on these have been on par with most other commercial radios I've used (8-10hrs in a TX heavy environment) and speaking of batteries, it seems Motorola is finally figuring out how to mount them to their radios. Where Jedi (HT1000, MTS2000, etc), Saber, Waris (HT750, HT1250, etc), and other radios all had problems with weak battery clips, rails, etc Motorola seems to have finally gotten a handle on this with the XTS, MotoTRBO, and newer radios.

Overall, highly reccomended. These radios can be had for as little as $250 (and occasionally lower) if you look hard enough. A great investment for a great operating mode.

 
KK9H Rating: 5/5 May 6, 2013 12:51 Send this review to a friend
Commercial grade, as expected  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is a very rugged, easy to use commercial grade HT, which in true Motorola fashion, has lots of audio. You won't have any problem hearing people calling you in a noisy environment. The audio quality on both FM analog and digital modes is superb and the battery life has been extremely good. I own this radio primarily for use where I live so the need to make frequency changes outside of local repeater systems is not an issue. Due to the need for expensive programming software being required for making any operational changes, in my opinion, this is not an HT for every ham. However, if you live in an area where both FM analog and MotoTRBO are available then the XPR 6550 is a great choice.
 
KB3RDG Rating: 5/5 May 2, 2013 21:40 Send this review to a friend
Solid Radio!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I switched from the HT1250 to the XPR6550 as my everyday carry radio because my hospital, where I work had switched to MotoTRBO. I currently have a 6550 in UHF. It is surprisingly lightweight, but powerful. The RX audio is crystal clear on Analog and life like on digital! The radio and battery are both completely water proof! That is nice because I'm a Skywarn Spotter and you know when it rains, it pours.

Another thing I like is how easy it is to navigate through and use the CPS. Unlike the older CPS for the MTS/XTS3000, the personalities, personality names and the zone assignments are ALL in one location on the tree. I can program my 6550 in 1/4 the time it took me to program my old MTS2000.

Overall, I highly recommend this radio to any HAM. Motorola hit this one way out of the park for sure!
 
N4KVE Rating: 5/5 Sep 20, 2012 18:10 Send this review to a friend
GREAT RADIO  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I really like the radio. DMR is a great way to link repeaters all over the world. Very easy to use the radio, & it works well. While not as solid as a XTS radio, it's not designed for LE use, but is more for business, & ham use. Smaller than a Jedi, it's lightweight & compact. It's competition is the Hytera, but I chose the XPR. After owning the radio for 3 months, I stand by my choice.
 
KD0DUJ Rating: 5/5 Jul 16, 2012 21:39 Send this review to a friend
very user friendly   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just migrated to the Mototrbo ham radio system. I reccomend the XPR 6550 to any ham wanting to use digital. Also the analog side of this radio is very clear. In closing I reccomend Mototrbo.
 
K7XRT Rating: 5/5 May 7, 2012 17:52 Send this review to a friend
MOTOROLA : DMR & Analog best of both worlds  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Using the UHF version (AAH55QDH9LA1AN) strictly for amateur use and have nothing but praise for this Motorola product. Using TDMA and it works great. Excellent audio in both modes. Have not heard one bit of intermod in ANALOG, but then it's Motorola!. Very LOUD RX audio. Excellent battery life, using the Motorola 2200 mah Lithium Ion IMPRES battery. Motorola IMPRES charger reconditions and properly charges the battery. Radio reads the battery and lets you know the activation date of the battery and it's service life. Scan feature works great. Nice little package, has good weigh and feel in the hand. LCD is small and can be difficult to see for those with vision issues. As typical with Motorola radio's you do need to purchase the proper cable and programming software. All in all the network of DMR systems worldwide that are available to amateurs is constantly growing and linked. The things this HT is capable of are great, texting, built in GPS, call lists just a couple. I am a member DMR-MARC. More info here : http://dmr-marc.net/
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.