eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Keys & Paddles | uniHAM UNI-730A Help


Reviews Summary for uniHAM UNI-730A
uniHAM UNI-730A Reviews: 15 Average rating: 3.6/5 MSRP: $79.95
Description: uni-HAM is a Chinese company making paddles and other amateur radio equipment, primarily for the Chinese market. Their designs are well thought-out, materials are well chosen, and performance is equal to equipment costing much more in the western world.

The UNI-730 dual paddle is a compact but solid paddle capable of standing up to the rigors of portable operation as well as providing excellent service in the shack. The base measures 3 inches by 2-1/2 inches, with the levers extending another inch to the front. Despite the small footprint, the UNI-730 weighs just under a pound (15.5 Oz) and it has non-skid pads on the bottom for stability.

Contact spacing is adjusted easily, without tools, via the large thumb-screws on either side of the paddle body. Spring tension is fixed for a light, precise action. Click here for a photo of the back of the paddle, and here for a photo of the mechanism after removal from the base.

Connection to rig or keyer is via a standard 3.5mm stereo phone jack on the back of the paddle body. The UNI-730 comes with connection and adjustment instructions in English, and feel free to visit uniHAM's web site at www.uniham.com
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.uniham.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the uniHAM UNI-730A.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KF2YD Rating: 0/5 Aug 18, 2016 06:03 Send this review to a friend
Poor Quality & Hard To Adjust   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Typical "Poor Quality Chinese Junk. Maybe of for kids to play with. Save your money and buy a real paddle.
 
AE5HL Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2016 08:31 Send this review to a friend
Great paddle!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've only owned one other paddle, the Pico Paddle from the folks in Germany and am by no means a great CW op, but for about $45, this is not a bad deal. The paddle is heavy and has a sturdy feel to it. Obviously you are limited to adjusting the spacing and I did not note any issues with turn screws. The paddle does exactly what it is supposed to do and at a great price.

Highly recommend!
 
BG2GN Rating: 5/5 Jul 2, 2016 22:16 Send this review to a friend
Deserve to have  Time owned: more than 12 months
This paddle use feel very good, contact sensitive, easy to adjust the contact gap.
 
W5QM Rating: 0/5 Jun 16, 2016 04:42 Send this review to a friend
Don't waste your money  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The ad copy is a pipe dream. Better quality could be found at the bottom of a box of Cracker Jacks. It is very difficult to adjust the thumb screws and even when the contact spacing is set to its narrowest, the spacing is huge. Any other key has to be an improvement over this one.
 
VK6IS Rating: 4/5 May 5, 2016 01:55 Send this review to a friend
good cheap key   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought one for about $47.00 & with free shipping.
The spacing adjustment knobs are very difficult to turn, best to set and forget, once they are set.
The key is solid with a black body and red plastic paddles.
 
K5SBR Rating: 5/5 Dec 25, 2015 09:18 Send this review to a friend
Good Value  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
It is compact, inexpensive, hard to damage and does the job. It is NOT a Begali, Vibroplex or even a vintage Brown Bros. I've been pushing paddles since converting from a bug in 1965. The paddle, bug and key collection stays in the shack. The UNI-730A is perfect for the car, boat, picnic table or field day. This MUST be one of the best buys of the decade.
 
K7FD Rating: 5/5 Dec 24, 2015 22:07 Send this review to a friend
MUCH better than expected  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After reading some reviews I was a bit skeptical. But after taking delivery and putting the paddle to the test, I am impressd! VERY heavy base, quality construction. Nice solid feel with smooth paddle action...easily rivals other paddles in my shack costing three times as much! I wouldn't hesitate recommending these paddles to my friends. The stereo jack input is very efficient and clean looking...very professional. One review was surprised by the use of 'plastic', it's feels more like a very high quality resin injection mold. Like I said, it is MUCH nicer than I was expecting. A big thumbs up!
 
LZ5ZM Rating: 1/5 Dec 9, 2015 13:35 Send this review to a friend
Save some more and buy other brand!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Strange, but no one mentioned that this key paddle is all plastic. Bought mine on the ebay for 49.99$ after reading the reviews here. What a disappointment! There is no adjustment of the tension, spacing adjustment is coarse and difficult. The "heavy" feel of the paddle is made by means of lead pieces inside the base -- yes, I have disassembled it! This unit is well over priced, despite frequent "discount" sales...
Yes, this paddle will do the job -- it will make electrical contact for dits and dahs... but it will not give you a pleasure for doing the CW...
 
K2TL Rating: 4/5 Dec 3, 2015 10:12 Send this review to a friend
Good for the price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought one for about $45.00 of AliExpress with free shipping. For that deal you can't beat it. Would not pay more. The spacing adjustment knobs are difficult to turn, best to set and forget. Nice looking and works well for the price. If you don't want to spend a couple of hundred bucks on a key, this will do, but shop around. The prices really do vary!
 
K0INN Rating: 5/5 Sep 8, 2015 16:46 Send this review to a friend
Works for me!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I also paid $54 on ebay but now I see them reduced to $50 - oh well.

The key arrived from China about 10 days after I ordered it.

The key is handsome with the black body and red paddles.

I have the contacts adjusted pretty closely and I'm able to send accurately. The action of the key is crisp and feels good. The base has grippy rubber strips and does not move around when sending. I was looking for a key for portable and to take on vacation and this seems perfect for that.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.