eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Tuners | MFJ-993BRT TUNER, AUTO, REMOTE, 300W, 1.8-30 MHZ Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-993BRT TUNER, AUTO, REMOTE, 300W, 1.8-30 MHZ
MFJ-993BRT TUNER, AUTO, REMOTE, 300W, 1.8-30 MHZ Reviews: 4 Average rating: 3.8/5 MSRP: $299.95
Description: Description: Remote IntelliTuner is mounted in a durable hard plastic case that measures 9 1/4" x 3" x 14 1/4". Covers 1.8 to 30 MHz, uses heavy duty 16 Amp / 1000 Volt relays in a highly efficient L-network. It also includes the MFJ-4117 BiasTee Power Injector to send DC/RF down your coax. Handles 600 Watts SSB/CWpower level and matches 6-1600 Ohm antennas.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/Product.php?productid=MFJ-993BRT
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-993BRT TUNER, AUTO, REMOTE, 300W, 1.8-30 MHZ.

N2DE Rating: 5/5 Aug 4, 2014 13:12 Send this review to a friend
Great Device  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I use this tuner to couple to a 700ft long wire that is fed off-center with ladder line. It provides a 1:1.3 or better match on all bands and follows bands changes instantaneously. My transceiver "sees" a perfect antenna on every band, although that wire is far from resonance, and I can run a "clean" coax into the house when the ladder line is certainly radiating quite a bit. The tuner just sits out there in the garden, doing the job quietly and efficiently - I am happy with it.
 
KG4RUL Rating: 5/5 Oct 3, 2012 04:26 Send this review to a friend
Works Great After You Finish Assembly  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
As I wrote before, the nut holding the radio, SO239 was loose on arrival. Fixed that and put it into service tuning my 41' flagpole. Works great on every band except 160M, which I had little hope for anyway. Of course, I only run 100W into a 300W rated tuner. HI HI
 
DG5SAY Rating: 3/5 Jun 13, 2012 08:44 Send this review to a friend
it works, but don´t know how long  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ich habe den Tuner nun etwa zwei Monate. Vorweg muss ich sagen, er tut genau das was er tun sollte. Er kann meinen etwa 27 m langen Draht von 160 m bis 10 m einigermassen anpassen, das max. SWR beträgt normalerweise 1:1,5.

Als ich den Tuner erhalten habe, ist mir aufgefallen dass 1. (bei meinem Exemplar) kein Befestigungsmaterial zur Mastmontage enthalten war, und 2. auch bei meinem Gerät eine Schraube locker war. Da es sich dabei um eine der Deckelschrauben handelte, habe ich die Gelegenheit ergriffen, mal einen Blick ins Innere zu tätigen.

So wie es innen aussieht, hat MFJ nur die Leiterplatten aus dem normalen MFJ-993 genommen und in ein, etwas instabiles dünnes Plastikgehäuse, gebaut. Das Display vom normalen Tuner ist nicht bestückt, und die Frontplattenplatine mit den Tasten ist so montiert, dass sie nicht mehr betätigt werden können. Dazu erhält man eine (englische) Bedienungsanleitung, die sich auf die Bedienung des Shack-Gerätes mit Display und Tasten bezieht! Fakt ist, dass sich beim MFJ-993BRT z.B. das "Target SWR" nicht ohne vollständige Zerlegung des Geräts einstellen lässt.
Gelegentlich habe ich auch das Problem, dass der Tuner nicht damit beginnt eine Abstimmung zu starten, obwohl das SWR über 1:2 liegt. Dann hilft nur die Sendefrequenz so weit so verändern, dass das SWR noch weiter steigt, irgendwann beginnt er dann endlich mit einem Abstimmvorgang.

Ich bin gespannt, wie lange das Gerät noch seinen Dienst tut. Er ist bei mir im Freien am Mastrohr von der 2m/70cm-Antenne befestigt, vollständig der Witterung ausgesetzt. Das labrige Plastikgehäuse ist nur (nach meiner Meinung) unzureichend abgedichtet.

Auch könnten die internen Masseverbindungen noch weiter verbessert werden. So sind z.B. die Massen der PL-Buchsen nur über jeweils ein dünnes Stück Silberdraht vom Gehäuse zur Platine geführt. Selbst zur Masseschraube des extenen Masseanschlusses ist nur ein dünnes, mehrere cm langes, Drähtchen verlegt! Und warum zur den Schrauben der beiden Befestigungsflansche keine Masse verlegt wurde, entzieht sich ebenfalls meiner Kenntnis.

Zusammenfassung:

Positiv:
- Funktioniert
- Kostet nur die Hälfte wie ein SGC-Tuner
- Fernspeisung

Negativ:
- lieblos in ein dünnes Plastikgehäuse eingebauter MFJ-993
- keine Betätigung der (noch) vorhanden Tasten möglich
- unzureichende Masseverdrahtung
- Abdichtung gegenüber Witterung fraglich (werden die nächsten Monate zeigen)

 
KG4RUL Rating: 2/5 May 19, 2012 04:57 Send this review to a friend
Loose Nut in the Tuner  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My tuner arrived with a rattle inside. Upon removing the cover(ten screws), I discovered the nut holding the radio SO239 was loose. Adequately re-tightening (that assumes that it was tight in the first place) the nut was a exercise in frustration! Yet another MFJ "kit" product. A follow up review will be forthcoming when I get up the nerve to actually install and try it.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.