eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | Hexbeam: G3TXQ by SP7IDX Help


Reviews Summary for Hexbeam: G3TXQ by SP7IDX
Hexbeam: G3TXQ by SP7IDX Reviews: 129 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $530
Description: A professionally engineered High-Quality,Heavy Duty, Light
Weight, Plug and Play no tuning necessary SIX amateur radio
bands 20-17-15-12-10-6 meters broadband hexagonal beam wire
antenna.Easy and quick to assembly. Made from high quality
components. Antenna designed by G3TXQ and made by SP7IDX.
More info on his website.
Product is in production.
More info: http://sp7idx-hexbeam.eu
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Hexbeam: G3TXQ by SP7IDX.

<— Page 2 of 13 —>

N3AJB Rating: 5/5 Apr 8, 2017 14:14 Send this review to a friend
Best in Class  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Waldi's first hex beam worked so well I ordered a second one. This one is roof mounted at 37ft in a Colorado QTH while the first one is at 50ft at a Pennsylvania QTH. Even at 37ft surrounded by 100ft trees, it is a great performer. Like the first installation, the SWR on all bands is close to 1:1. The main reason I prefer Waldi's version of the hex beam (all have the same antenna characteristics) is the high quality of the design. While most hex beam designs use U bolts at the center hub, Waldi's version uses a robust clamping system to secure the 6 fiberglass spreaders.

With the Euro dollar exchange rate at records lows, the beam is a bargain even with the additional cost of shipping. Buy one...you'll love it..

JON
 
OZ1EHW Rating: 5/5 Apr 8, 2017 02:07 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I received the antenna (HEX-BEAM)for 20-17-15-12-10-6 Meter) in 5. April and was in the air after two days. this was very easy to assemble the antenna,
it took less than two hours to assemble the antenna,
and get it in the air.
Now came the big moment where i had to test the antenna, all band were with a very fine SWR. And big surprise, i could hear Japan and Australia, at 09:30 am GMT.with 4-6 S. Countries i could not work with my other antennas COBWEB and G5RV.
I think it is a powerful antenna,easy to assemble
strong construction,and works great.!
OZ1EHW / 5Q0X Tommy
 
EA6XQ Rating: 5/5 Mar 18, 2017 04:02 Send this review to a friend
good antenna  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Great antenna solid build quality.
Amazing preformance.
Spare parts at a very competitive price, without hesitation a very good antenna
 
F1EYG Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2017 03:47 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I use waldi hexabeam for about a year. First of all a very professional construction with very good materials (stainless steel, aluminum, fiberglass). The assembly is easy but do not forget the assembly manual which is attached with the order confirmation mail! The performance is consistent and the TOS is less than 1.5 (with no adjustment) on all the bands a bit more on the 6m. The performance is amazing and the antenna is very quiet compared to my vertical. An unbeatable value for money. For delivery it must be a little patient. Last news after a storm, the pylon tipped and the antenna fell 18m !!!! and only two intermediate portions fiber glass broken !!! Waldi supplies the replacement parts and I hope to repair quickly.
 
DL2AWG Rating: 5/5 Mar 5, 2017 01:59 Send this review to a friend
XX9D  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
we use the Hexbeam on our DXpedition Macau 2017 by XX9D .
It was our first time that we use the Hexbeam and the building was very easy for us. The beam works to our satisfaction.
Many thanks to Waldi for his great support.
73 de
the XX9D Team
 
EA2TP Rating: 5/5 Jan 22, 2017 14:14 Send this review to a friend
Good quality  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Solid supports, kevlar cords... Plug and play, low swr with no mods... and good quality.

I installed the hexbeam only 3 meters high, and it works fine with no more than 1,7 swr.

Patience with delivery time.
 
PE1HTB Rating: 5/5 Dec 28, 2016 03:11 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great antenna solid build quality.
Amazing preformance.
Low SWR
 
ON4CCV Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2016 04:42 Send this review to a friend
excellent build quality  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
In addition to my first post on this antenna, I can only confirm it performed equally well during our OY/ON6NB expedition in September. And it survived without problems the Faroer Islands storms - recommended!
 
IZ2KTK Rating: 5/5 Oct 29, 2016 01:47 Send this review to a friend
Great DX Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought antenna fm Waldi SP7IDX some three years ago.
Assembled and put on top of the pole within an hour by a couple of friends who had never seen an hexbeam before in their lives.
This tells you a lot on how simple and straightforward mounting is.
As well,no time wasted trying to tune antenna,it works perfectly once mounted.
For comparison,tuning a Butternut HF9 was a nightmare.
Ever since on roof I never had a problem,neither mechanical nor electrical.
Antenna does perform very well on all bands with a very good bandwidth.
Pretty quiet when compared to Butternut HF9 Windom and Efhwa I had before.
Two elements on all 6 bands, full size no traps nor "magic boxes" and just 9 kg plus a light footprint.
Can be mounted on a pole and only need a simple rotator,this should be taken in consideration,saving you money and work on antenna support.
So far, it survived all storms,snow and cold winds from the Alps and still working like day 1.
Because of simmetrical design this aerial will withstand wind better than a yagi.
Waldi is a very nice person always fast in answering all questions and problem solving within a few hours.
Yes,you have to wait to get your hexbeam done.
Let's not forget that Waldy really handcrafts antennas paying particular attention to all details.
Base plate is a real masterpiece.
Shipped in a small 1.40m long sturdy package with all parts and bits plus some extra parts...not like a "big name company" with parts missing!
I do recommend this antenna to anyone.
Best solution for space limited operators as well as dx-expeditions or field-day operation and whoever is looking for high performance at a fair price.
Waldi is added value! Thumbs up!
Thanks to G3TXQ for developing Broadband Hexbeam.
Thanks to my friends Paolo Iz2qce and Raffaele Iz2oat who did the job.
 
SP5I Rating: 5/5 Oct 20, 2016 14:56 Send this review to a friend
SUPER GOOD JOB !!!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
THE ANTENNA waited 30 days of the contract.
CONTACT WALDI VERY GOOD ALWAYS RECEIVE CALLS.
ANTENNA been used for less than 1 YEAR.
REVELATION !!!!
PLEASE SEE MY LOG ON PAGE HRDLOG.NET
HEXBEAM LISTED IS DELICIOUS, sensational.
Posted ALSO YOUR MOVIES VIDEO IN QRZ.COM
I recommend 100% !!!!
PERFORMANCE ANTENNA HEXBEAM ARE SUPER !!!
I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH LARGE PILLEUP.
MY STATION TO ICOM 7300 WORKING WITH HEXBEAM.
ONLY 100 watts of power.
MAXIMUM HEIGHT TO ANTENNA on the mast 21 meters above the ground.
 
<— Page 2 of 13 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.