eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | Fritzel FD 4 Multiband Antenna Help


Reviews Summary for Fritzel FD 4 Multiband Antenna
Fritzel FD 4 Multiband Antenna Reviews: 26 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $139.00
Description: Fritzel 3.5 to 30 MHZ 2kw Dipole (FD4)
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.hofi.de
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Fritzel FD 4 Multiband Antenna.

Page 1 of 3 —>

VK4SX Rating: 5/5 Oct 10, 2017 01:35 Send this review to a friend
Excellent multiband antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
if you OCF wire antenna is running a 1-4 balun, you only think it is a good antenna, in comparison to the FRITZEL ( HOFI) It will appear pretty darn ordinary,

1-6 balun, and 1-1 line isolator in the one package, you could tow with the cable,
Hofi in Germany has kept the fine reputation of the FD4 alive and well,
each antenna is made, TESTED, yes actually strung up to a mast, then packaged for market,

craftsmanship at it's very best,
compliments my UB VL-2-3.
Regards

Dennis vk4sx
 
N4HNH Rating: 5/5 Apr 11, 2016 15:24 Send this review to a friend
Still amazing after all these years!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned the same FritzelFD-4 since the early 90s. I purchased it at HRO in Atlanta. It has been an amazing antenna. When I move it goes with me. Ive suspended it from trees in an "L" shape, if you looked down at it from a helicopter. It has been a straight dipole, a lazy dipole, and it is currently sloping on the long side while flat on the short side at about 50 feet. I call it a di-V.

I get less than 1.5:1 SWR on 10, 12, 17, 20, 40, meters. On 75-80 meters I get 1.1:1 from 3.595 to 4.0 MHz. Yes, the SWR across 75-80m starts at 1.6:1 from 3.5 MHz and slopes down to 1.1:1 at 3.595 MHz, staying at 1.1:1 all the way up to 4.0 MHz. I did find a trick that made it resonant across this much of the 75-80m band. This may or may not work for you, because the ground beneath the antenna and nearby objects can affect the antenna, but here is what worked for me. I found that if I coil the coax 2.5 turns into an approximate 10-12 circle near where it connects to the antenna switch in my shack, and add 2 sets of two snap-together chokes (the square kind they sell at HRO), one pair snapped around the coiled part and the other on the coax as it leaves the coil, headed toward the antenna, I get the low SWR across 75-80m. Normally the antenna is resonant across about 100 KHz of the 75-80m band. You might need to try different coil size, turns, chokes, etc., to get your desired SWR. I can change the resonant point by changing mine.

The antenna is unbelievably rugged. I have pulled the antenna wire (well its actually cable) through tree limbs on its way up and it broke the limbs. This is the most indestructible antenna I have ever seen.

Performance? I have worked much DX with this antenna. The higher you get the apex the better. The flatter you can suspend it (keep the ends up as high as the middle) the lower take-off angle you get. But even if you have to operate it as an inverted V you will not be disappointed. It is very forgiving. Just get the wire into the air and it works. The signal to noise ratio is also impressive.
I was so saddened to hear that Kurt Fritzel passed away. This antenna is a great legacy for him. Im glad that someone still manufactures the antenna to his specs.
 
KC8GL Rating: 5/5 Aug 31, 2015 17:06 Send this review to a friend
RUMORS OF THIS ANTENNAS DEATH ARE GREATLY EXAGGERATED  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I know this is an old thread - but Hofi in Germany still manufactures the antenna. I recently purchased the 5KW FD4 from an MWF-SERVICE.COM in Germany because the exchange rate for euros was low. It comes complete with a 1:6 balun with SO-239 connector. COM written on the balun indicates the 5KW version.

This thing is built like a tank - Superb quality. Field day, permanent install, German engineered, and we all know what that means. It is off-center fed like some other "windoms" or other nom de plumes, but this is the real deal and you will love it.

No, I don't work for the company or affiliates. I do know quality workmanship when i see it and this antenna is that. - Yes, it's a little pricey, but better to "buy once and cry once" than buy, repair, replace, rinse and repeat.

I like to roll my own antennas too, but this tried and true antenna does what all those reviewers in the past says it does. I wrote this review for the most part to emphasize this antenna is still in production and can be had today.
 
PA5COR Rating: 5/5 Dec 11, 2008 03:13 Send this review to a friend
Good  Time owned: more than 12 months
Still use the same FD-4 from 2005, added an coil 190 MicroHenry and 30 feet of wire on the short side, wich now lets the antenna resonate on 160 meters.
Rest of the bands not affected, but the results on 160 barefoot were quite good for a shortened antenna for 160.
Build is very high standard, no degradation to be seen after 3 years up in wind and weather and a salt environment.

I'm using the AMA 83 balun, the SB-1000 from Heathkit delivers 800 - 1000 watts into it, without any problems till now, not expecting any trouble in years to come.

Mine is now 45 feet above good conducting ground
straight line.
SWR is very good on all bands it was made for, it even tunes on 6 meters, but for that band i use a 5 element beam.

73,

Cor
 
K1XV Rating: 5/5 Sep 4, 2007 13:50 Send this review to a friend
My third FD-4  Time owned: more than 12 months
I put up an FD-4 in 1997 as my first HF antenna when I was relicensed. See my review from 2000. I placed a second one on the family farm in Massachusetts in 1997 as well so I could operate portable from there. Its still up.

I moved to Vermont in 2003 and gave my original FD 4 to my radio club to use as a Field Day antenna.

I just purchased my third FD-4 from a European amateur radio store. It cost approximately 200 euros plus mailing costs. I bought what is now the "high power" one, rated 1500 watts cw, 3000 watts ssb pep. Curiously, the label on it still reads "Made in West Germany". In any event, I just put it up today. It is my back-up HF antenna, and one that can be used on 40 meter round table rag chews where a beam may not be ideal.

The FD-4 is still made with outstanding quality of materials. I set mine up as an inverted V, and swr is fine on all bands, but is very low at the bottom ends of 80 and 40. I suspect this varies from installation to installation based on local conditions.

Of course, on 40 through 10 meters, it does not do as well as a multi-element beam pointed in the right direction, but it was never meant to do that. On 75, it does at least as well as my IAC double bazooka, and I know it won't break down in an ice storm.

Its a shame that this fine antenna is not better known in the USA and is not sold by any US sellers. I am thinking of contacting Hofi to see if they would want a US distributor.
 
K4SX Rating: 5/5 Feb 10, 2007 17:09 Send this review to a friend
Fritzel FD4 OCF Dipole  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Since writing my last review, I have since put up another of these antennas. I put one up for my own use about 10 months ago and can tell you this antenna is the best dipole configured antenna I have ever used. The one I put up is the legal limit version, 80-10 meters. It is approximately 40 feet above ground and is close to a flat top configuration. I have put the manual up on my website http://www.k4sx.com if you want to read the information. 73
 
OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Oct 15, 2006 10:46 Send this review to a friend
OK for what it is  Time owned: more than 12 months
Used an FD-4 as my first antenna on HF and later as my allround gem. Troublefree for 10+ years hanging beetween two trees this antenna is a good way to start ham radio and get to work the first DX. Good performance for SW-listeners as well. And the German Fritzel quality is excellent for sure.
 
LC2AAT Rating: 5/5 Sep 27, 2005 05:56 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding quality!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Fritzel FD-4 has an outstanding high mechanical quality!
This antenna is manufactured to the highest standards.
Np matter how I set up the FD-4 antenna, the SWR is much lower on all bands than the manufacturer spesifies in the detailed document that follow the antenna.
The Fritzel antennas are still in production.
Check out their website at:
http://www.hofi.de/
 
K4SX Rating: 5/5 Sep 25, 2005 18:13 Send this review to a friend
Fritzel Windom  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This weekend we put up a Fritzel windom at K0LDL's QTH, replacing the old 450 ohm feedline dipole. His Fritzel model is the 1:6 500 w input version. I could not identify the specific model other than it is the lower power version with the 1:6 balun. The antenna was purchased used off the internet a few years ago and never put up until this weekend. I must say it is a very impressive antenna, both construction and performance. (I intend to build this antenna with the same specifications and quality at the legal limit level). Our tests revealed 80M and 15M required using the Drake tuner. (The SWR on these bands was a little over 3 to 1). All other bands had a 1.5 to 1 or less and a tuner was not required. The antenna matches/worked extremely well with his KWM-380. Of all the wire all-band antennas I have built and used over my 43+ years in this wonderful hobby, this antenna is absolutely the best. I highly recommend the antenna.
 
PA5COR Rating: 5/5 May 22, 2005 11:25 Send this review to a friend
Allround antenna  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Hello,

Got an original FD-4 from Fritzel up here, about 40 feet high above the ground.
The Yaesu FT 847 and FC 20 autotuner will without problems tune it in from 160 to 10 metres.
Limited in space for beams,( already occupied by the 6 mtr beam, 2 and 70 cm's beams ;) this is the solution for me.

For 15mtr, 12 mtr, and 10 mtr i also use an Imax 2000 vertical wich with ground radials will perform very good there.

The Heathkit SB 1000 will do nicely with the FD-4, no tuner needed.

73's,

PA5COR
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.