eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF Portable (not mobile) | CHAMELEON HYBRID-MINI Help


Reviews Summary for CHAMELEON HYBRID-MINI
CHAMELEON HYBRID-MINI Reviews: 6 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $199
Description: The CHA HYBRID-MINI Base is the portable version of the regular HYBRID. The unit can be differentiated by the color of the lid and the base connector, which is black instead of gray. The HYBRID-MINI is also smaller and about 50% lighter than the regular HYBRID. An external antenna tuner is required to provide a low VSWR. The connector provided with the antenna is a SO-239 sealed. The entire unit is also waterproof.

The HYBRID-MINI will serve as impedance transformer matching network and will greatly reduce the VSWR at the load for the following antennas: V1, V1L, V2L and MIL.

Specifications:
Frequency: 6M - 160M
Power: 500W SSB (1500W SSB 60 wire or CHA MIL)
RF Connection: SO-239
VSWR: Subject to configuration
Height: 7.5"
Weight: 1.5 Lb.
Mounting Configuration: 3/8-24 Thread

The antenna system consists of:

1 X HYBRID-MINI Matching Unit Base
1 X 60 wire (14 gauge)
Product is in production.
More info: http://chameleonantenna.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the CHAMELEON HYBRID-MINI.

VE3FAL Rating: 5/5 Jun 24, 2013 09:35 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My friend Gary VE3ODE built a backpack radio using a FT857, AT-100 ProII, 2 LiPo packs for power and using a Hy-Brid Mini and V1L whip, he gives the setup a 9.5/10. Our first contact on 20 watts was to VE9GU and Ron gave us a 5x7 on 20 meters. The antenna tunes up very fast and very well. Gary put 40 hours into the pack and many revisions before he got it the way he wanted it.
Great job Gary
 
VE3FAL Rating: 4/5 Mar 1, 2013 14:13 Send this review to a friend
Nice Product  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought the HyBrid-Mini to use with my backpack radio setup. I am using a HyBrid-Mini with an AT271B antenna. I have a LDG FT817H tuner and using a FT857 at 20 watts in the backpack. I power the unit with a set of two PBox LiPo battery packs. The Mini is on the top of the aluminum frame and the unit tunes fast and well with a 33' counterpoise. It is very quiet and hears well. Once the weather warms up I will take the unit outside a bit more and operate from the parks and other areas totally portable, still working the backpack though for ease of operation and hookup of morse key, so will need to make and label a few cables.
 
N5QWA Rating: 5/5 Jan 14, 2013 17:56 Send this review to a friend
Works like a champ for me!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Cut down some trees and had to give up my G5RV. Selected the Hybrid-Mini after having great success with the ZEPP in another installation. Bought the mini, and was on the air in minutes. I am running it as a NVIS due to installation, from ham shack across to the chimney about 20 feet above ground, and routinely work east coast of Florida on 20 meters.

Customer support is excellent! Carl responds within minutes. Construction is rock solid.
 
KC7ZWG Rating: 5/5 Nov 6, 2012 12:34 Send this review to a friend
Like an Apple Product  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
These Antenna's are awesome, they look and feel like Apple Computer built them, Steve Jobs would be proud as the HYBRID-MINI does not disappoint.

I use the HYBRID-MINI with the MIL whip for my QRP ops with the Elecraft KX3, and it works very very well, tunes 1.2:1 or lower at all times on all bands.

Easy to setup and weight is low, very nice looking piece of equipment that makes other amateurs take note and ask about it.

I use it for QRP ops because of the size, but it is fully capable of QRO ops as well!

very good product backed by very good service and best of all ... really works with no taps to set or other user intervention.

you owe it to yourself to at least check them out... about same price as a buddixxxx but easier to use and way smaller/lighter to pack around...

nuff said.
 
KB1UTL Rating: 5/5 Sep 4, 2012 13:34 Send this review to a friend
Excellent antenna system!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm running a Yaesu FT-897D with the Hybrid Mini, V2L lower element, and the MIL... I live in a condo and I'm only able to set it up as a portable system on the optional tripod but have had amazing results so far... I live in the Boston, MA area and in the first week have been able to talk all over the US and Canada, Poland, England, Brazil, Venezuela, and Hawaii (5000+ mi on 40m)... all reported I was 5/5 or better and they were all +10, +20 on my end... Customer support was wonderful before and after buying... I recommend this antenna to anyone looking for a great portable system!!!
 
K0FTC Rating: 5/5 Jul 16, 2012 09:15 Send this review to a friend
Great for portable  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've got 2 regular Hybrids at home, one for a vertical and one for a random wire antenna. I've already reviewd the regular Hybrid - a nice device itself. They work great but was looking for something a bit smaller for portable. Chameleon came out with a "Hybrid-Mini" that is at least 1/2 the size of the original. During the IARU HF contest I took it out to the Pawnee Grasslands to give it a go. I tried 4 different configs. with it - a stand alone short vertical with coil, a 31' wire vertical, a 66' inverted "L", and a short vertical with coil on a truck mount. All 4 configs really did a great job. I made 132 CW QSO's including 34 DX stations. The Hybrid-Mini provides a pretty good SWR on its own and 1:1 for the most part across the HF bands with a tuner. Its a great addition to my "go" box for portable ops. If you want to see pictures of the set-up and more narrative go to the Chamelon web site and view the discussion on it on that site's forum. 73 to all, John
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.