eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Tuners | Alinco EDX-2 Help


Reviews Summary for Alinco EDX-2
Alinco EDX-2 Reviews: 19 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $230
Description: Automatic wire antenna tuner 3.5-30MHz with 8 ft whip 1.6-30 MHz with 40' wire
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.alinco.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alinco EDX-2.

<— Page 2 of 2

V73GOD Rating: 5/5 Sep 29, 2005 17:04 Send this review to a friend
Used and Abused  Time owned: more than 12 months
I put this thing through every type of mismatch possible and it took it in stride. great piece of equipment. A bit noisy but it beat the AH-4 every time. Just grounded it and used whips that were way off tune but made it work. Good job Alinco. Worked well with the 706 too.
 
K3ICH Rating: 5/5 Apr 7, 2005 05:20 Send this review to a friend
Perfect Portable Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used most all of the current remote auto-tuners, the Alinco EDX-2, Kenwood AT-300, a couple different Icom & SGC versions, all with about the same results. I find that with a typical 2 foot piece of copper water pipe as a ground, and 45 feet of wire to one of those German 30 foot fiberglass zip-up masts, it will outperform any antenna short of a full size, resonant dipole or 1/4 wave vertical. Just clamp the light weight mast to anything handy, a fence post, short tree etc. and run a piece of #24 magnet wire up at an angle to near the top of the mast. Pound in the ground rod and you're all set. In one installation, I had a Cush-Craft R-5 at about 15 feet and was able to switch between it and the auto-tuned wire. Only on ten meters were signals the same. On all other bands, the wire was better. I have used this wire/tuner combo on all bands from 160 to 10 with very good results. The only item of concern is to make sure the length of wire you choose is NOT a half wave *, or muliple of it, on any frequency you plan to use. It turns out that 45 feet meets that requirement and makes for a convenient length for a sloping wire to the 30 foot mast.

* An end fed half wave presents a very high impedance and therefore a very high Voltage at the feed point which could be damaging to the tuner as well as making it near impossible to obtain a match.
 
KC7TEN Rating: 5/5 Mar 25, 2004 02:41 Send this review to a friend
Works great  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my EDX-2 used about three years ago, and it has been working flawlessly in my pickup truck with a DX-70TH ever since. I tune a 102" whip with it, and am quite pleased with the result. This doesn't work like the tri-bander at home, but it beats the heck out of changing resonators for band changes.
 
G0CJM Rating: 1/5 Feb 19, 2004 12:54 Send this review to a friend
Unreliable, poor...  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I became the owner of a DX-77. As a disabled person the residence is 'sheltered' with a very tiny garden about four feet by four feet and i realised that unless i utilised fibre glass 'marine type' aerials i was not going to have much joy on the bands. I read about the seemingly 'magic' properties of the edx-2 and decided that it may just work for me and somehow i was able to string 100ft of galvanised wire so i bought the edx-2 new and put it to work. The noise when its working is to be understood, but i was alarmed to find that as it tuned it was drawing 20A. Sometimes in the 40mtr band it would over-run on and on forcing me to switch it off. Though it would give the impression it is tuned to 160 or 80mtrs my meters record a power out of nil. The only frequency i have ever had a qso was on 10.124 and i sought advice from a fellow engineer G0AVP who advised me to cut the wire to 40ft as that was the maximum required. I followed this advice and whilst i am able to receive perfect Top band copy my out put meter again shows only 2 to 3 watts tx. I had hoped i could at least work qrp on all bands. Please advise. Reb g0cjm
 
W9SWL Rating: 5/5 Jul 3, 2002 14:55 Send this review to a friend
Very Fine Product  Time owned: more than 12 months
Works great with Alinco DX70 and IC746. I am running it with a 160' loop @ 7'. Great cloud burner. Super tuner.

Have used it mobile with 102" whip on 40-10M and also used it with OutBacker Perth Plus. Super with both. (Pictures on web site)

My previous review was as WA7UVX using Long Wire.
 
NE0P Rating: 5/5 Jun 30, 2002 01:43 Send this review to a friend
Great tuner  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I agree with earlier reviewers. This tuner is a bit noisy, but matched my dipole/long wire no problem, even on 160 meters (it is only an 80 meter dipole). This was the first autotuner I had, and it made band changing a breeze. If you have an Alinco DX70TH I would recommend one of these tuners, especially if you find one for what I paid-$125. Got rid of the DX70TH, and also the tuner, but I think you can wire it for other rigs.

 
VR2NG Rating: 5/5 Dec 6, 2001 11:44 Send this review to a friend
Good SWR  Time owned: more than 12 months
Good ATU, good PCB.
Tune in 5 seconds, but a bit noisy.
 
WA7UVX Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2000 20:42 Send this review to a friend
Fast and Effective  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've used it with antenna wire from 7-130' and it works great. My antenna is 130' of #14 stranded. Great tuner for the money. The rig is a DX-70T.
WA7UVX - John
 
VE3OYJ Rating: 4/5 Aug 29, 2000 21:13 Send this review to a friend
Tunes very well, very fast  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Have had great results when using this tuner with my DX70th.
Has anybody figured out how to wire it for use on other than Alinco rigs?
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.