eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Yaesu FTDX-3000 Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FTDX-3000
Yaesu FTDX-3000 Reviews: 144 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3299.00
Description: Yaesu newest add to the HF line
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FTDX-3000.

<— Page 3 of 15 —>

KC2QYW Rating: 5/5 Apr 26, 2016 19:57 Send this review to a friend
A+ Nice Radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
My experience with the Yaesu ftdx-3000d is all good.So I give it a 5 rating.
 
WD5DJX Rating: 5/5 Mar 18, 2016 16:43 Send this review to a friend
Best in Class  Time owned: more than 12 months
I was a bit anxious coming from a Yaesu FT-1000MP Mark V going to this radio as I tend to like knobs and switches a lot more than screens and menus. I was also looking at the Yaesu FT-991 but I told myself that I absolutely did not want a touch screen, this radio does not require you to ever touch the screen. The finals are very poor quality in the FT-991 to Boot!

The receive on the radio is excellent, just as good if not a touch better than on the FT-1000MP Mark V, my FT-1000MP Mark V also had all of the filters installed including the Inrad Roofing Filter. One thing that is I noticed that is better on the older FT-1000MP Mark V is the audio. The contour on the FTDX-3000 does not seem to get the same quality of sound even using the same Yaesu SP-8 speaker on both. You can get close, 75%, but just not the same. The FFT screen on the FTDX-3000 makes notching out offending signals VERY easy and fun as you can visually see how your filters work. The notch on the Mark V is just not that good in my opinion. All of the other standard features such as Width/Shift work as expected and are very easy to use especially with the digital/visual display. The noise blanker works very well and cleans up just all of the noise I have encountered.

One of the main reasons I chose the FTDX-3000 was the built in sound-card. I absolutely hated having to run cables to Rigblasters, computers and microphones. With one USB cable I can run all of my digital mode and voice keyer software easily and efficiently, this is a big plus as it simplifies everything and clears up clutter in the shack. This also cleaned up some RFI I was experiencing when running a Rigblaster.

The scope is a nice feature as you visually see the signals and then tune to them, this makes chasing DX fun however i find that only the stronger signals show up on the scope. The waterfall has made all the difference since it was added recently.

Even though there is no second receiver in this radio running split operation is a breeze, the top RX/TX buttons are big enough to make switching back and forth really simple.

The DSP is described in one word, OUTSTANDING! On several occasions the DSP has made the difference in being able to hear weak contacts and not being to hear them at all, it is that good. Adjusting it on the fly is not as easy as say the FTDX-5000 but I'll forget about that based on the performance advantage it offers especially in weak signal work.

My only gripe with this radio is the "mode" button, switching between modes is a pain as you have to keep pressing or holding down the one button. But maybe I am being too picky here, this is a great radio that does everything really well, buy with confidence as you will not be disappointed. To me this is the Best in it's class. I sold my first one and missed it so bad, I had to buy another. I don't think I will be selling it anytime soon. It is my favorite of the 35 radios I now own and operate.
 
K4ECD Rating: 5/5 Mar 14, 2016 18:11 Send this review to a friend
3 years of bliss  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a follow up review, so it will be short.

The best receive audio in it price range, fantastic audio on TX.
DXCC with nothing but wire, 100w and this xcvr

Features galore, great yaesu updates over time, nothing more to say but 5+
 
N0LYI Rating: 3/5 Mar 1, 2016 17:10 Send this review to a friend
GREAT RADIO BUT BEWARE THE MENU!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Yaesu FT DX3000 is a class rig with excellent features,many of which are buried deep within its extensive menu system and the reason I give it a 3.5 instead of a 5.

I have owned this rig for a year now and have been both impressed and frustrated at what it can do. Very impressive is the radios quality on receive and its digital noise reduction and signal processing capability. Less impressive and the object of frustration is the fact that one must go into its extensive embedded menu features to configure it properly.

In the interest of keeping this review relatively concise,let me share a recent experience with the dx3000 that saw me coming very close to boxing up the rig and sending it in for "service", only to discover that a simple menu setting was the source of my problem.

I enjoy operating the digital modes and this rig does an excellent job. I found that in order to successfully use WSJT alongside Ham Radio Deluxe,it was necessary for me to configure menu setting 103, which controls how ssb audio is sent to the mic. For WSJT, I needed to select "USB" to enable the onboard soundcard at the expense of disabling the mic, connected to the traditional mic port on the front of the radio. To return operation to voice on ssb,I of course needed to change menu 103 from"USB" back to "FRONT".

Well I think you can see where our story is headed. I was operating digital modes and then didn't operate for weeks, until one day I saw on the DX Cluster that there were some stations popping up on 10 meters. When I tried to work these stations, I was not getting any audio out because I neglected to realize that my menu 103 setting was still configured for soundcard modes! I eventually discovered what was wrong but there was a lot of troubleshooting and time involved. A tough way to live life if you ask me!

So caveat emptor on this Yaesu! I previously owned the Yaesu ft-450 and felt that it was much easier to operate and much more user friendly.
 
VK2LEE Rating: 5/5 Feb 4, 2016 11:27 Send this review to a friend
An Excellent HF RADIO  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
After owning My FTDX-3000 for 12 months, I still just love this Radio... The received Audio is adjustable so just about anyone with hard hearing will hear without any problems. I have been getting EXCELLENT reports from just about anyone who is using an antenna.. Hi Hi.. All My antennas are resonant on the bands they are made for, so I have no problems with the antenna tuner. Now the antenna tuner is very slow compared to other Radios I have owned but have found that if You save the SWR on each band every 10 khz and it should work without actually having to wait for it to re-tune. [I also miss the FT-920 tuner which adjusts when the SWR gets over 1.5 to one approx automatically as You move the dial up or down the band] There is a limit to the memories though on the FTDX-3000. I also found the tuning knob a bit slow compared to the FT920 with its shuttle jog speed adjusting tuning knob, [which is an excellent system] but have been told I am supposed to just punch in the frequency on the keyboard..!! but I believe it is still a natural thing to want to scan the bands with the dial, so, the shuttle jog from the FT-920 would make Me very happy...Hi Hi.. I recommend this radio to everybody. There are a few oddities, like the mode button, which behaves quite like no other !! and it would have been nice to have LEDs behind every knob and button !! I have found that by turning the contour down to 100-300hz I can usually hear anyone... I do need hearing aids though... Hi Hi.. If I had to replace this Radio it would be with another FTDX-3000...
Lee VK2LEE
 
KY5U Rating: 5/5 Jan 29, 2016 09:26 Send this review to a friend
Getting it Right  Time owned: more than 12 months
History: TS-2000 to a new FT950 then 2 years later a new FTdx3000.

The FT950 got a bad rap when it was first introduced because it had a rotten default setup and the menu was beyond the cranial energy of many hams. Along comes the FTdx-3000 and it's menu is the same level of complexity. This is not a negative to me but when I hear critics I have to wonder whether they can comprehend the subject.

I have helped hams set up at least 10 FTdx3000s in the last year, mainly understanding the Parametric Equalizer and deciphering the manual. Once past this roadblock they are very happy. An example is the latest software release changed menu 177 from the power setting for the rig to the power setting select for the proc/car knob. Many hams go into cranial vapor lock over this, "I can't even adjust the power on this #$#@ thing!!" Yes you can, just change 177 to pwr and adjust with the outer ring of the PROC/CAR knob on the rig.

Having had the FT950, I set my 3000 up in 5 minutes and nobody could tell the difference in audio between the two. Any good ham could have a new 3000 up in a half hour MAX. That said, it took me quiet reading and experimentation to understand all the bells and whistles and get past the pretty face. (For those interested, the FTdx1200 is a 3000 without the IF output on the back and without the real time scope plus a few doo-dads.)

I love my FTdx3000! It was the best bang for my buck considering I am not an ICOM, TenTec, or Elecraft Fan. If you buy one, read the manual and look up stuff on the Internet. Get help if you need it. Then enjoy a great rig.
 
HB9OAB Rating: 5/5 Jan 2, 2016 09:49 Send this review to a friend
Good Price quality EXTRA!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have this transceiver for over a year and just today I feel very sure of what I write!

If you must still assume PRICE+QUALITY = FTdx3000d wins 1000%

On the bench have gone with him several other transceivers of the type Kenwood TS930-940 and 950SDX , Yaesu FTxxx FT1000 FT1000MK5 FT2000PEP (the worst) and many many other more or less the same characteristics.

Other transceivers much more expensive but with these comparisons would not be correct even if the FTdx3000d is absolutely NOT a bad impression, even in some case on the filters are really and excellent.

Moving from FT2000, with whom I was very disappointed with the FTdx3000d, I am reborn with the pleasure of doing radio.

For those OM looking for a second receiver (2RX or DualWatch) must do 2 or 3 or those few DX/year with big split (5-20KHz), it had to settle its SCOPE, more than enough, or the simple programmed button TXW in to FTdx3000d...

As I did, but that does not use its ever to connects a low costs SDR and will have a receiver certainly much better than many many 2RX or DualWatch...

Immediately the FTdx3000 it solved all problems: NOT false feature of glitches or bugs of the previous FT2000 and even today I can say that NOT finding any structural bug.

Filters are exceptional and work in CW up to 50Hz without the whistle PLL tight, you work at 1500Hz SSB audio with no audio problems, listening is not pathetically hard as annoying as in 2000 or in 1000.
All knob/menu and NB, NOTCH, AMP IPO Rflt... they work very well and do their job they have to do...

Headphone listening for hours without headaches, excellent audio and PROC that works and now!

DNR has a little to say OUTSTANDING and accuracy of its filter is excellent.
A keyer for PHONE CW RTTY PSK (5x4 = 20 memories).
The USB connection is superb and no more cables, free sparkling clean.
USB AUDIO CARD for all AFSK mode and FSK
SCOPE with extra PHONE DATA waterfall

For this PRICE in that figure there 'nothing better!

... And to be a YAESU generation: WORKS WELL WITHOUT PUTTING HAND TO CHANGE MENU to say that it's okay ... it works right away and without problems!

Of course we also have the FT5000, but as the price is double and has no chance of USB CAT MODS SCOPE PSK RTTY CW Keyer etc ... etc ... even the FT5000 is old ...
Of course they are also excellent the IC7850 or the TS990 but at what price?

We are realists, at a cost of $ 2,000 no's' better sometimes even spending twice.

Try it and you'll notice the quality.

We will wait for the next YAESU that surely will be a mix of analog / digital / sdr ....

Check info, tips, docs, audio and many other more here from my server:

http://computerclub.no-ip.org/ftdx3000d

73' Franco - HB9oab
 
VE3TS Rating: 4/5 Jan 2, 2016 06:14 Send this review to a friend
The Great, the Good, the Bad and the Ugly!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am coming from a slightly different perspective in that I do a fair amount of SWL'ing, BCB, and VLF listening in addition to regular hamming, both voice and digital modes. I looked for a radio that had good specs below 1.6 megs. My previous KX3, although a great radio, was useless below 1.6 megs. Buying a radio from specs can only tell you so much, the rest of the story you have to learn by using it. The Great. Its raw receive capability. It is sensitive, selective and stable. In addition there are a host of signal improvements possible via filters, noise reduction and notches. The Good. It's ability to mate very well with a computer using USB connectivity, and an external IF output. Audio for digital modes can be sent over the usb port, allowing you to get rid of the external interface and a mess of wires. SW, BCB, and VLF reception are all very good. Nice easy to read displays. The Bad. The mode switch, yuk. Cheap, badly positioned and requires multiple pushes or a hold-in to select mode. Slow, delayed bandscope. Firmware update is a pain. Generally cheezy buttons and switches, except for a nice main tuning dial. AM receive does not allow choice of filters. The Ugly. With almost 200 menu items it is easy to overlook something, One thing not to overlook is the fact the the default menu setting can put RF power on Antenna no 3 position, which is labelled as a receive antenna. I managed to blow the lo noise amps for my receive loops. A warning in the manual would have been very much appreciated.
Overall it should get a 4.5 but you can't do that, so I have settled on a 4.
73, good dx.
 
KH6TA Rating: 5/5 Dec 11, 2015 12:32 Send this review to a friend
Wow! Loving it so far!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought in October, took a little getting used to as I have owned mostly Icom xcvrs for the past 5 years, but bought a little FT-900 (10+ years old), and it really impressed me, so decided to go new Yaesu. I like the TFT color display, easy to read. Radio works great with HRD, LP-Pan2, has super Rx (haven't used IPO 1&2 yet) and always gets good comments from stations worked on Tx audio (MD-200 Mic).

Internal band scope is good for casual use, but needs some improvement. Upgrading firmware is a royal pain in the arse, but once you've done it once it becomes routine.

My only other complaint is that the VFO B knob needs some friction! I used some foam behind it which has helped. This is not an issue on the FT-991, but seems to exist on the FTdx series and the FT-950 as well as possible others.

Still, due to it's ease of use and great on-air performance, I still give it a 5 rating (my actual was 4.5).
 
KL2ZZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2015 06:42 Send this review to a friend
Very nice transceiver - 4.75  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have used an FT-450D since passing my General exam. The 450D is a basic radio, although I found that it is actually a capable transceiver.

The FTDX-3000 is a massive upgrade from the 450D, although I found that there were some small omissions in documentation and some convenience features that were not carried over from the 450D. Some of my observations will be obvious to those of you who are used to operating big rigs. This review is tailored more for folks upgrading from a 450D or its equivalent from other manufacturers.

The good news first:
* Out of the box, this radio is easy to use. There are enough knobs on the front that you can get on SSB without much trouble. Oddly, my radio was set to LSB on 10 through 20 meters but all other defaults were fine. The controls on the fact of the radio are layed out well and useful. I might have moved the mode button away from the VFO-B control. Having all of the interference rejection controls RIGHT THERE is nice. Independently selectable attenuation and pre-amp controls, with shift, width and notch just a twist away is very nice compared to the 450D.
* Except for one laptop I keep around for programming software, my computer environment is all Linux. The built-in USB port on the FTDX-3000 is fully supported on any modern Linux distribution and is pretty much plug & play. If you are using a 3.x kernel, plugging in to the USB port will give you USB audio, and two serial ports: ttyUSB0 and ttyUSB1. The serial ports correspond to the "standard" and "enhanced" ports that the Windows driver provides. I find that hamlib/rigcat control via ttyUSB0 works fine (tell hamlib you have an FTDX-5000), and the USB Audio is, well, USB audio. My SignaLink and serial cable stay with the 450D for digital modes/cqrlog operation. Reduced cable count and one less device to power.
* The digital noise reduction is fantastic. I live in the suburbs with high noise, and the 450D's DNR was frustrating. Sometimes I could leverage it, but most often it resulted in muddy audio that was almost as bad as the noise. I pushed the button on the FTDX-3000 and was amazed at the clarity that came out at me. I have yet to dig into the menus to configure the DNR, even though the manual says you have to experiment to find what works for you. For me, factory default works wonders (Even if you start doing things like setting the attenuator to -18dB and then turning the pre-amp up all the way things might get a little tinny, but still very readable.)
* I am learning CW, and while I started on the 450D I've appreciated the ability to have two keys. I have both a straight key and a set of paddles connected. (Two keys may not be much of a selling point for folks used to comparable radios, but this gets more important later.) Even without the optional 300Hz filter you can get down to about 100Hz using the "NAR" button and width control. I did some SWLing during the recent sweepstakes and while the sweepstakes ops were all too fast for me, I could isolate the runner from the stations working him unless they did a good job of zero beating.

The things I would see changed:
* The 450D has the ability to set the C.S. button to "SWR." The SWR function switches mode to CW, sets 5 watts out, and sends a tone. This is perfect for external tuners. The FTDX-3000 has no way of doing this using a button. If you are working SSB, you can emulate this - sort of - by turning on CW Auto in the menu, switching modes to CW, setting the power to 5W on CW, and then switching back to SSB and returning to full power. (The radio will remember that CW is only running 5w, while SSB is at 100w. This is undocumented as far as I know and doesn't always survive a band change/power cycle.) When you need to tune just push on a straight key, or a paddle with the keyer turned off. Don't forget to reset your power when you go back to CW unless you're into QRP. Just setting the CW Auto function leads to folks tuning up at 100w which is just plain obnoxious. Yaesu, please encourage better operating practice and fix this by allowing the "TUNE" button to be programmed for this feature. Or...
* The aforementioned C.S. button would actually do something on a 450D. As far as I can tell, the C.S. button on the FTDX-3000 is really just a menu shortcut. You can use it to bring up a commonly used menu item, but it will not take any actions. If you hit the C.S. button accidentally, you find it is not a toggle. Hitting it again does not turn the menu off, you have to find the menu button. While I suppose some folks tweak their menus on a regular basis, I operate differently and tend to set it the way I want it and then just leave it be. Yaesu could fix the C.S. button and let ops actually give this button a custom function! Perhaps "SWR" would be a good option.


The lack of a "tune" function and the odd "menu shortcut" button make me wish I could do a 4.75 score. A fix for both shortcomings are but a firmware upgrade away.
 
<— Page 3 of 15 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.