eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Speakers for communications use | MFJ ClearTone 281 Speaker Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ ClearTone 281 Speaker
MFJ ClearTone 281 Speaker Reviews: 58 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $12.95
Description: Communication Speaker
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-281
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ ClearTone 281 Speaker.

<— Page 2 of 6 —>

WB0FDJ Rating: 5/5 Jun 1, 2013 18:48 Send this review to a friend
Good value for what it is  Time owned: more than 12 months
The two words that come to my mind and I see in other reviews: crisp and clear. Period.

No it's not "Hi-Fi" quality, don't think it was designed with that in mind. If thats what you are looking for, you probably already know this ain't it. I picked this up as kind of experiment. I mounted on the wall behind my operating position. Have used it in all my rigs and have found that it just "works". I run mostly CW and will have the rig on in the backround "reading the mail" (a term from the old days). When I am in my serious operating mode I put on a good set of headphones. With good filtering in the rig it performs well. All in all a decent product.
 
W7KKK Rating: 5/5 Apr 18, 2013 10:31 Send this review to a friend
Good Value  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought one of these to mount in my Miata roadster that I drive most of the time with the top down. What else are rag tops for??
I could not hear the FT-7900 speaker well above 45 MPH or so with the wind buffeting and such.
I mounted the speaker up high between the seats next to my ear and the difference is unbelievable.
I can be at 70 MPH and hear the transmissions very clearly now without any problems.
Of note I tried it in the house with my FT-950 and the stock speaker in it is superior to the MFJ 281.
But I think for a mobile speaker this is a very good value.
 
KK4AH Rating: 5/5 May 21, 2012 17:57 Send this review to a friend
Good Value  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
It's cheap but for the money it works very well with my IC-7000! I use it in the mobile and have no problems with this little speaker. The only thing bad I can say about it is the bracket is very weak but once mounted no issue, can you buy better sure but for the money it is a very good sounding speaker.
 
KB4MTO Rating: 5/5 Sep 8, 2011 18:29 Send this review to a friend
Great communications Speaker  Time owned: more than 12 months
I actually won this speaker as a raffle prize at an ARES meeting. I wasn't expecting much, but I was very surprised when I plugged it into my Yaesu FT-897D. The audio is loud, very crisp, and very clear. For my radio gear, I do not want full range Hi-Fi sound, I want crisp, clear, and loud. This speaker provides that sound from a sturdy, well made speaker. And it really helps me hear weaker HF SSB signals.

In my opinion, the best sounding speakers for VHF/UHF FM have always been Motorola speakers, especially the old Metal ones. I am happy to say that this MFJ 281 sounds as good as the Motorola's.
 
NC4DK Rating: 5/5 May 29, 2010 20:25 Send this review to a friend
It's a $12.95 Speaker  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned the 281 for about four years and have had it mounted for use with a remote head mount in two vehicles. The internal speaker is out of range. I have had zero problems with clarity or volume. People keep trying to compare it with speakers designed for CW, SSB, and more. This is a mobile speaker. Of course there are higher quality speakers on the market. But for what it's designed for, this is the best bang for the buck. I just bought a second 281 for use with an Icom 2720 with dual receive. For the price point, I'll use them every time.
 
N8FXH Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2009 18:59 Send this review to a friend
Great for the price  Time owned: more than 12 months
Liked my first one that I bought four years ago so much I bought a second one. They both work better than the old Yaesu SP 102 they replaced. One of better things MFJ makes and is definitely not CB Junk.
 
N4MJG Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2009 08:53 Send this review to a friend
Awsome Speaker !!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I brought mine back 2001 when i first got into ham radio,i love that how it sounded no noises at all.


73
Jackie
N4MJG
Tullahoma,Tn
WWW.N4MJG.COM
 
KB5WVK Rating: 2/5 Dec 19, 2009 21:43 Send this review to a friend
CB Junk?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was going to say it was just a CB speaker, but the ones that my buddy has from the truck stop actually sound better. I will stick with my homebrew.
 
K2TJR Rating: 5/5 Jul 21, 2009 11:19 Send this review to a friend
Guess I don't "get it"  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
So many reviews complaining about tinny sound, high frequencys amplified, not HiFi quality etc.

Heeeelllloooo...It was designed that way! It's the very reason I bought it!

I heard this speaker in use by a HAM who I was assiting as net control for our local ARES group. I could not believe how clear and sharp this speaker sounded! When you are Net control you better be able to hear clearly. I just knew this was the speaker I needed in my convertable. The sound cuts right thru the noise so well I can operate with the top down @65 MPH no problem.

I am older (55) but my hearing is still good...maybe not as sensitive to the high frequencies as some other reviewers here who are offended by the clarity. But I just had to say...it was designed to be very clear at the sacrifice of some midrange and low. Get over it or buy something else. It hardly rates a 1 or 2.
 
K7UA Rating: 4/5 Apr 23, 2009 19:37 Send this review to a friend
Good for what it is  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I installed a new 2M FM mobile with a detachable control head. The rig is under my truck seat. I couldn't hear the rig's internal speaker with any highway noise. I had a limited space for a speaker. I saw a MFJ 281 at the local ham dealer. I bought it because of the size and price - just as an experiment. I didn't expect much from it, but it worked out ok in this application. Not hifi quality, but ok for what it is. I bought another one to use on an old boat anchor receiver. Its ok, especially for the low price.
 
<— Page 2 of 6 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.