eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amateur Radio Periodicals | CQ Magazine Help


Reviews Summary for CQ Magazine
CQ Magazine Reviews: 150 Average rating: 3.2/5 MSRP: $27.95
Description: The Radio Amateur's Journal
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.cq-amateur-radio.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the CQ Magazine.

<— Page 2 of 15 —>

KD6CPA Rating: 2/5 Jan 2, 2015 14:15 Send this review to a friend
Print-late, Zinio, unworkable  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have subscribed to CQ and "World Radio" for many years. Since they combined, I find the combination's info great, except (1) as so many have said, the print edition is 2-3 months out of date. Why even carry info about contests, or ads with a particular required time frame? (2) the Zinio on-line edition, while more timely, and with more info is much more of a hassle to read that a paper mag. It takes 3-5 "clicks" to adjust the display size, each time you change a page, to get it readable! The default "zoom" doesn't work if you toggle between the table of contents and individual articles. If you are looking at a prior edition, and click on a link in that edition to page XX, it brings you to page XX in the current edition. Plus, you can't print anything to get it on paper, so you can review it at another location that doesn't have Internet.
 
W5NZ Rating: 0/5 Jan 2, 2015 14:05 Send this review to a friend
No improvement.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Continually late to need. Just received the Nov 14 issue in Jan 15. These guys are about as efficient as the US government. Too bad, because the content is relatively good. Won't be renewing any subscriptions with this poorly managed company.
 
W8JAS Rating: 0/5 Dec 13, 2014 04:34 Send this review to a friend
Outdated Information  Time owned: more than 12 months
The information in the magazine is outdated and useless since the magazine arrives late every month and sometimes it never arrives. Reading about upcoming contests that have already passed is useless information. Special pricing in ads that has already expired is useless. It also seems like the magazine gets thinner and thinner each month so there is little content worth reading. Don't know what's going on, but won't re renewing.
 
K7FD Rating: 0/5 Nov 28, 2014 05:26 Send this review to a friend
Weak content  Time owned: more than 12 months
Advertisements that are disguised as articles; articles that are nothing but book promotions peppered with name-dropping and self promotion. This magazine continues to spiral into oblivion..
 
W3MAJ Rating: 2/5 Oct 6, 2014 01:29 Send this review to a friend
Receive Very Late  Time owned: more than 12 months
I enjoy the content of CQ magazine with the exception of.... delivery date. I subscribe to a ton of magazines. Each is delivered the month prior to the issue month if not the month of the issue. I just RECEIVED THE AUGUST ISSUE IN OCTOBER. For a magazine that is as expensive as this is it is just not acceptable. For a good portion of the issue the content will not be outdated. With the exception of time sensitive activities. People/Clubs have put in ads and notices which will be of no value and have cob webs on them when received and read. To read where there is going to be a Hamfest on August 2nd and not be able to read about it until October 4th at the earliest is not a good thing. Otherwise the content seems ok.. I'm giving this periodical an average grade of "2" that being "4..Good" for articles and "0..Awful" for timeliness. CQ get on the stick and get this periodical out to your subscribers in a timely manner!!!
 
K8SOR Rating: 0/5 Aug 21, 2014 03:50 Send this review to a friend
Late or Never  Time owned: more than 12 months
August 20, just got the July issue. They should call it Contest Quarterly-----Only get about 4 a year, and it's just contest stuff. Tried to cancel my subscription by e-mail, but no luck. This used to be a good mag, but NO MORE.
 
WA2EEW Rating: 2/5 Aug 20, 2014 11:57 Send this review to a friend
I'm sooo excited! NOT!  Time owned: more than 12 months
August 20th and the July issue finally arrived!
I can hardly wait till my term expires so I don't have to renew. Also the late issues may have some interesting articles but not timely.
Gave it a 2 "needs help", but it should say BEYOND HELP!
 
W5NZ Rating: 1/5 Aug 19, 2014 14:18 Send this review to a friend
Late, late, late!  Time owned: more than 12 months
July edition finally arrived on 18 Aug -- 6 weeks later than it should. Content of the magazine is usually quite decent and offers a much needed alternative perspective from that provided by other journals. However, the management aspect of this periodical is sorely lacking. They've consolidated Popular Communications, CQ VHF magazine, and others into a single product line that should have minimized their publication woes. Haven't seen any subsequent improvement nor do they seem to care. Too bad to see a formerly great magazine go by the wayside. Will NOT be renewing my subscription.
 
KD8KEO Rating: 3/5 Aug 19, 2014 05:33 Send this review to a friend
Mail Subscription  Time owned: more than 12 months
I finally received my July edition in the mail yesterday, August 18th. Late but, I enjoyed the articles. Especially Zero Bias on Miscommunication Emergency, and part II on Americas Off-limits Islands. I think this is a good magazine and do not want to see it go away. I would subscribe to the digital edition but, I continually have problems viewing it on my Android devices.
 
WB8NUT Rating: 0/5 Aug 7, 2014 04:32 Send this review to a friend
Articles and information old and outdated  Time owned: more than 12 months
When my issue of CQ arrives, the news is old and outdated. Even the ads are outdated. The issue I received in February had Christmas ads that were no longer valid. When they send out combined issues, the magazine is no bigger than a regular monthly issue. Articles are often not very interesting. CQ magazine is not what it used to be.
 
<— Page 2 of 15 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.