eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amateur Radio Periodicals | Practical Wireless Help


Reviews Summary for Practical Wireless
Practical Wireless Reviews: 21 Average rating: 3.0/5 MSRP: $£2.95
Description: British Magazine: General Ham Radio News, Reviews and Construction Articles.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.pwpublishing.ltd.uk/index.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Practical Wireless.

Page 1 of 3 —>

G3VGR Rating: 4/5 Feb 13, 2011 14:55 Send this review to a friend
Good magazine  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I gave "Camm's Comic" a good slating on here back in 2002. It's changed considerably since then and has become a very well balanced magazine. It's now a far better read than the RSGB's dumbed down "RadComic" and serves UK Radio Amateurs very well.
All credit to Rob Mannion and his sterling work with PW
 
GM6HGW Rating: 5/5 May 13, 2008 05:41 Send this review to a friend
Good value  Time owned: more than 12 months
Iíve been buying PW since the 1970ís. Itís difficult for a magazine to cover all facets of our hobby, but I think the team at PW does try. If you look back through the letters page, youíll see that the editor is happy to print critical letters concerning the standard of articles and areas covered, how many editorial teams do this?

As for constructional articles, if PW publishes complex projects, the team come under fire from novices and newcomers. If the projects are too simple for advanced amateurs, criticism is levelled for dumbing down.

The editorial team appears to welcome readersí comments and feedback. Additionally how many editors of hobby related publications go to major rallies and even humble local clubs to give talks, meet local amateurs and fly the flag of their publication?

PW is printed on good quality paper in clear text which I can read without my reading glasses. It tries to keep up to date and gives space over to news items as well as constructional projects at all levels.

As for the space given over to adverts, look through issues dating back to the 70ís and youíll see that the proportion of space given over to advertisement was just as high then as it is now.
 
DL3GAZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2007 15:37 Send this review to a friend
25 years later  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I enjoyed PW on a regular basis until 1982 when I moved to Germany. Now, 25 years later, I had the opportunity to study a current issue (Jan. 2007) and found it as interesting and filled with profound knowledge as back then. Keep on the good work!
 
VE3ES Rating: 3/5 Apr 3, 2007 16:30 Send this review to a friend
Good British publication  Time owned: more than 12 months
Nice publication if you're looking to add to your collection of QST, CQ, TCA, etc. Geared towards British ham radio ops but a pretty good read for those of us on this side of the pond.
 
EI2GLB Rating: 3/5 Feb 21, 2006 18:22 Send this review to a friend
needs to be updated  Time owned: more than 12 months
i have being buying pw since 1994 i was only 14 back then and used to count down the days till it came out when i finally got licened in 2004 i stopped buying it as i got sick of the page after page articles on valves and simple projects i started buying it last year (2005) and guess what its the same and even worse the reviews are totally useless there is only one reviewer who has a proper station. everthing is aimed at the older age group im only 26 i want to read about amplifiers large beams dx'ing how to build a 4 square for 80m stuff like that not how to make a one freq cw transmitter is a sweet tin (and before anyone thinks damm young person knows nothing i have two college quailfactions in electronics and service and repair multi million doller semi conductor manufacturing machines every day)the need a new lease of life valves are gone so forget about them the average ham walkes into a shop and buys his radio and antenna he should be catered for as well as the person who wants to build his own radio.
on a plus the quailty of advertising is very good only for it i would never buy it
 
G4DYO Rating: 3/5 Aug 13, 2005 01:13 Send this review to a friend
It's OK and useful  Time owned: months
I agree that the mag is different to what it was 40 years ago, but radio has changed. I came back recently after a 7-year break and found the bands empty so a lot of interest has obviously gone, and with it those who write articles for mags. I occasionally purchase a copy, primarily for the adverts but do find some articles of interest.

To those who are not satisfied I say "Why don't YOU contribute something to the magazine?" Contributions will probably be welcomed with open arms and, who knows, someone out there might just be waiting for what YOU can offer..
 
SMHAM Rating: 2/5 Aug 12, 2005 19:46 Send this review to a friend
Not nearly as good as it used to be  Time owned: months
PW was the first foreign ham magazine I bought back in the seventies. It was very hard to come by in Sweden back then but I found it in a shop run by two old ladies. Back then PW was not very well known in Sweden and few hms bought it. Therefore PW was hard to come by. Apparently my interest and recommendation to others made the old ladies keep it on their shelves. "It must be a good magazine, we sell about 10 copies every month and only a few of the other ones" I remeber them saying. They had CQ and QST as well.

Back then it was really inspiring to read about all projects, not to mention the naming convention PW uses. Small villages in a foreign country came to my knowledge...

It is very sad to see the transformation of PW to a mainstream magazine. I really miss the top notch projects from ancient times. It was about amateur radio back then, not amateur communication. Unfortunately PW has fallen into the same category as so many other magazines. Bring back the old projects, like a transverter driver, measurement equipment etc that run over several issues.

PW was one of the very few top notch magazines in the seventies and eighties, I wish it still were.
 
M1FHJ Rating: 2/5 Aug 12, 2005 07:41 Send this review to a friend
Not improving  Time owned: more than 12 months
Every month I buy a copy of PW, hoping for some improvement in the variety (and interest) of its content, but Im always dissapointed. I seem to find the same old formulaic articles month after month - the ideas do seem to have dried up, the writing is lack-lustre (and quirky) and the sparkle gone.
 
GM0ONX Rating: 4/5 Jul 26, 2005 05:44 Send this review to a friend
Getting a lot better  Time owned: more than 12 months
Iíve been a public critic (even though I write for them, occasionally) of PWís tendency to over dwell in matters of the past, but in past 12 months there has been a marked improvement in the quality of this magazine with more construction and antenna projects. Credit where credits due, a big step in the right direction, WELL DONE ROB.

Len GM0ONX
 
M1SPY Rating: 4/5 May 28, 2004 21:35 Send this review to a friend
Old Hams rejoining  Time owned: more than 12 months
Yes' I've been involved in other reviews and have actually prescribed to Worldy Radio on the strength of their "raverts". Let me tell you, their reviewers have had the ice-picks into the frontal lobes.
PW product reviews do lack 'in depth' criticism, but , would they get products to review if they gave a 1 by 1? Perhaps a few more 'independent reviewers' and probably more high profile hams would help.
PW still mixes it with Radcom which remains elitist .
Give the M3's a chance (25w would help!)
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.